Skip to content

Scott Thomas’ Assignment 14: Showing Scale in Photography

July 20, 2011

In recent times I have been reasonably busy with anything other than blogging – I started a new job in June (I will tell more about this later 🙂 ) and have just been on two weeks holiday by the West-coast of Jutland (many of you will know I love spending much time there – and some new photos from there will also likely soon show up here – in between more travel photos!).

A few days ago I discovered that I had completely missed Scott Thomas’ latest assignment: Showing Scale in Photography.

On my travel earlier this year ​​many experiences  made a great impression (and you may already have seen some of my photos from this travel here?! – If not – please check my archives – category “Australia”)

Anyway – I decided to use a few more travel-photos this time.

This is not the first time I publish photos of this beautiful and magnificent building (Please look here  and here). But look at the large size of the building here by comparing with the person in red in the middle of the picture (click to enlarge the photo) – or if he is too small – the cars to the right.

But standing in Sydney Tower overlooking the center of Sydney and some of the suburbs in the distance, the harbour, The Harbour Bridge – and Sydney Opera House: Suddenly the Opera House looks very small…

Here is another large – and a bit scary – Aussie experience!

Australia has got a lot of exciting and (for us) unusual animals. Driving near Great Ocean Road on a small outback road I suddenly watched this giant spider. It kept sitting there for a long time, and we had no great desire to go out and say hello to the creature. Therefore I had to drive into the bushes by the roadside to get it swept off the car!

Later that day we must have been focusing a lot on spiders (!) – and I found many giant spiders in the bushes on a walk by the coast…:

More about Australias’ exciting animals in later posts!

We also travelled in Malaysian Borneo, Sabah.

Borneo has until last century been covered by rainforest. But by means of powerful forces in our industrialized world by far the most of this rainforest is now cleared to make way for huge plantations with only one plant: Oil palms – for industrial use. A lucrative business for big companies in this business.

But very bad for the rainforest and its complex and overwhelming life of animals and plants – and for all  the world’s environment and future….

We could drive for hours with only this depressing view from the road:
But how does the rainforest look like?

We experienced this when we spent some adventurous days in Borneo Rainforest Lodge in Danum Valley. Here we discovered the amazing diversity of life for plants and animals in the rainforest. Every day we spent hiking in the rainforest both by day and night. Extremely exciting, hard and instructive!
This gigantic tree may be hundreds of years old:

Here is our little group for our walks in the rainforest: Three Danes in the company of our two very sweet Japanese friends. We are all equipped with some odd socks: leech socks (!!!)

We also walked upon the huge trees of the rainforest!:

I am happy, that by staying in Borneo Rainforest Lodge we supported their projects for the expansion of the rainforest in Borneo.

(I will show more from Sabah, Borneo, in later posts!)

25 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2011 10:31 pm

    Oh so sad about the rainforests of Borneo. Shocking to hear you talking about them in the past tense.

    I wonder if I am purchasing products or services that have come at the cost of the destruction of those rain forests ?

    I think Scott should give you an “A” on this assignment !

    Like

    • July 28, 2011 9:13 pm

      I think we all are buying and consuming products made from palm-oil. And unfortunately taking prt in the destruction of the rainforest….
      Thanks for visiting my blog – and for your comments!

      Like

  2. July 21, 2011 12:51 pm

    Yay travel shots! That first spider is gigantic.

    Like

  3. July 22, 2011 12:25 am

    Well done Truels. You really showed us some good examples of scale from the world Down Under.

    Like

    • July 28, 2011 9:14 pm

      Thank you, Scott! There is much more to come from downunder here 🙂

      Like

  4. July 22, 2011 12:55 pm

    Yikes! Those spider shots are scary! I love the shot of everyone under the tree.

    Like

  5. July 22, 2011 7:14 pm

    Those spiders are immense. I’m not sure how I’d react if one of those was climbing down the side of my car. And that tree! I can’t even start to imagine how tall it is!

    Like

    • July 28, 2011 9:21 pm

      Those trees in the rainforest are huge, I can not believe they will end up as garden furniture here in our part of the world 😦

      Like

  6. July 23, 2011 10:46 pm

    I love your travel shots, you sure get around the world. The Australian insects scare me silly, and I grew up in Africa – you think I would be used to them. The shot of you holding hands around the tree in Borneo is fantastic, good to hear there is a project to protect and extend the rainforests. Good luck with your new job.

    Like

    • July 28, 2011 9:25 pm

      I’m glad you like that photo of us holding hands around our enormous friend…
      I feel I was very lucky to get this job, I will tell more about it here later, it is a very photogenic workplace!

      Like

  7. July 24, 2011 9:51 am

    Nice shots, Truels! Spiders are scary and I got some pics myself travelling in Australia. I do like your picture from the Opera house.

    Takker for din kommentar og medfølelse! Ja, det er grusomt det som skjedde i Norge fredag, – klarer ikke helt å forstå at noen kan gjøre slike ting. Forferdelig!

    Ønsker deg en flott søndag, Truels!

    Like

    • July 28, 2011 9:37 pm

      I’m feel so sad about this insane terrorist, who caused so much death, destruction and grief in Norway – and here, and throughout the world. But I am pleased when I hear how good the solidarity is in Norway now, I saw a feature on Danish TV1 today about, how well the many Norwegians from eg Muslim countries felt they were treated in Norway. We could learn something from the Norwegians!

      Like

  8. July 24, 2011 2:55 pm

    Wow, those are huge spiders and the rainforest shots are beautiful. I love the last shot, sounds like a fun adventure.

    Like

  9. July 24, 2011 3:01 pm

    I’m always impressed by your photos from Australia, and here you have surpassed yourself along the whole scale of sizes.

    Thank you so much for your condolences and kind words. Yes, Denmark and Norway have a lot in common. More than most countries, and we stand for the same democratic and humanistic principles.

    PS I also enjoy the beaches of Jutland 🙂

    Like

    • July 28, 2011 9:44 pm

      As I wrote above to Hans are my thoughts and condolences to you in Norway these days, and this tragedy might as well have taken place in Denmark!
      And. There will be MUCH more about both the West Coast of Denmark and Australia here on my blog!

      Like

  10. July 25, 2011 3:42 pm

    Really great shots. I do not like spiders, I hate them! What amazing to me to see, was that gigantic tree. I always thought that in the States, on its Western coast, there are only giant trees. I have been twice in Muir Woods, which is nearby San Francisco admiring huge redwood trees and that one You presented here is indeed big.

    Great post and You succeeded very well with the theme!

    Like

    • July 28, 2011 9:47 pm

      I would like to see those Redwood trees in USA too! And thanks for your comment, Matti!

      Like

  11. July 28, 2011 12:57 pm

    LOVE the pics of all those creepy spiders….pretty scary yet fascinating to see!!
    🙂

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Assignment 14 Recap | Views Infinitum
  2. Kangaroos « Truels' Blog
  3. Rice Paddy August 5, 2011 « Nye Noona

Leave a comment