Skip to content

Sydney Opera House

April 7, 2011

A dream for many years came true when I finally in January was able to travel to Australia.

Together with my family I started the journey in Sydney. Sydney is a wonderful, modern city built around one of the finest natural harbors in the world. Here one could easily spend much longer than the week I was there.

And here it is almost impossible to see that the area for thousands of years was the Ancestral home of the Eora people. And almost as difficult is it today to find the traces of the first white European immigrants, who from 1788 settled here – and then out across Australia. They were mostly criminals who got this harsh opportunity to serve their sentences. Over the years up to the present, they took the natives’ land and the Aboriginal peoples were systematically forced away, incarcerated or killed. How the original Australian population’s fate is today, I will return to later.

And although there is a harsh story behind the modern Australian population – one thing is certain: As visitors today we were greeted with open arms and overwhelming friendliness.

This is a view from Sydney Tower.

You can just glimpse a building, that I have dreamed of visiting since its official opening in 1973.

And which became my absolute highlight of Sydney.

For me Sydney Opera House is an architectural masterpiece and one of the most beautiful buildings in the world.

The architect behind is Danish, Jørn Utzon. Sadly political scandals forced him to leave the project before the building’s completition – and he died in 2008 having never seen the faboulous finished building in person.

I found that this unique building was especially beautiful viewed from the water.

31 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2011 11:37 am

    You were so much farther than I thought. I guessed at Jutland (Sønderjylland) 🙂 It’s far away too.
    Australia – or New Zealand!! I’ve also dreamed about travelling there, but now we realize that our dreams do not always come true. Welcome home again.

    Like

    • April 9, 2011 5:56 pm

      We travelled in Australia, Borneo and Philippines, and had a great trip – that feels like a dream now back home…. But my photos show me, that i’s not a dream:-)

      Like

  2. April 7, 2011 12:51 pm

    A great start, Truels! The opera house is a fabulous work. So sad to hear the person who designed it never got to visit it. 😦

    I recently meet a family from Brisbane at Walt Disney World. I hope someday I will visit them.

    Like

    • April 9, 2011 6:00 pm

      We had planned driving from Sydney towards Brisbane and Cairns, but sadly the terrible floods in Queensland made that impossible. Fortunately we had a great trip driving south instead!

      Like

  3. April 7, 2011 1:12 pm

    These are some great photographs of the skyline – I really ought to visit one day!

    Like

    • April 9, 2011 6:02 pm

      I will show you much more – and hope you will go “down under” too!

      Like

  4. April 7, 2011 4:05 pm

    A dream trip for sure! That opera house iconic and amazing! So unique. I never knew the story of the architect. Sad but what a legacy he left for the rest of us.

    Like

    • April 9, 2011 6:04 pm

      Yes, it was really such a great experience to see this building. I post some more from it soon;-)

      Like

  5. April 7, 2011 7:03 pm

    Sounds like you had an amazing vacation! My husband was in Sydney on business several years ago (he was there for a week) and really enjoyed it. The pictures he came back with a very similar to yours, you probably took the same harbor tour 🙂

    Like

    • April 9, 2011 6:07 pm

      Our tour was with a jetboat – my son was SO excited about the speed while his father admired the Opera House in front of the Sydney skyline…..

      Like

  6. Isabelle permalink
    April 8, 2011 8:11 am

    Wow ! Australia or OZ as Aussies call it 🙂 The little I saw (Melbourne and Victoria state) were superb and will remind in my memory always. I am very happy you had a ten weeks visit Down Under. Your pictures are very beautiful. Thanks for sharing your journey with us.

    Like

    • April 9, 2011 6:10 pm

      We were 6 weeks in OZ, 2 weeks in Borneo and then 3 weeks in Philippines. So there are images for many posts during 2011!

      Like

  7. April 8, 2011 9:54 am

    Australia!! A dream to visit, I’m sure. I’m hoping for a trip to New Zealand next year. Fantastic shots, I can’t wait to see more from your trip!

    Like

    • April 9, 2011 6:13 pm

      I was in New Zealand 15 years ago – you can look foreward to that! A wonderful country with a super hospitable and friendly population!

      Like

  8. April 8, 2011 9:46 pm

    wow wow ! I’ve been in Sydney for 4 months and it was one of the greatest part of my life ..
    Lovely photoes you have and also a good feeling of beeing in a good atmosphere …
    you can find a different photo from opra house in my profile and also many beautiful parts of Australia’s nature …

    Like

  9. April 8, 2011 9:51 pm

    so sorry : you can find a different photo from Opera house in my portfolio … not profile !!

    Like

    • April 9, 2011 6:18 pm

      Exciting! You have also been there and enjoyed it. I can’t wait to see your photos in your portfolio…
      I hope you will see more of my photos from Australia in the future. Did you also travel to other parts of Australia???

      Like

  10. April 9, 2011 1:20 am

    Aha, that is where you have been. I’m so glad that you were able to have your dream come true and that you cleverly did not let anyone know you were away.

    Like

    • April 9, 2011 6:19 pm

      Yes – the only visitors in my house during those 10 weeks were my good neighbours!

      Like

  11. April 9, 2011 5:09 am

    I really want to go to Australia.

    Like

  12. April 9, 2011 8:55 am

    Welcome back! Wonderful images. Can’t wait to see more images of your trip 🙂

    Like

  13. April 17, 2011 6:56 am

    I’m so happy for you that you were able to enjoy a wonderful holiday in Australia. I will look forward to your posts on visit.

    Like

    • April 17, 2011 11:35 am

      I hope you will stop by and watch more of my impressions from Australia! I enjoyed Australia just as much as I enjoyed New Zealand in 1995/6 🙂

      Like

  14. April 18, 2011 2:22 pm

    Awesome photos. I love all of those photos, but most of all from Opera House. It is so beautiful and Your photo highlights its beauty.

    Great start.

    Like

    • April 19, 2011 9:56 am

      Thank you, it’s great to read your comments again. Hope to see you soon again 😉

      Like

  15. April 20, 2011 5:38 am

    Wow, definitely my dream trip truels and love the first photo.

    Like

    • April 21, 2011 8:22 pm

      Me too, can you see my son in the red t-shirt, he is sitting beside my wife lying in the grass relaxing after the long flight from Denmark to Sydney!

      Like

Trackbacks

  1. Scott Thomas’ Assignment 14: Showing Scale in Photography « Truels' Blog

Leave a Reply

