Skip to content

Flowers in my ( and a royal) garden: Japanese Cherry

May 8, 2010

For several weeks one of the greatest views in my garden has been my Japanese Cherry (Prunus serrulata) – standing by the entrance to my house (and yes – I have also had sprays from that in my windowsill earlier 🙂 )

Now these days it follows the beech and all the other friends – and comes into leaf and green colur takes over.

So this is the time to post some pictures of this beauty:

But that’s not the end of the story…..

Last week I passed Marselisborg Castle on my way to Århus. In the previous years I have often admired the park here on this time of the year: The Queen – Margrethe 2. once got a gift from one of her colleagues, The Emperor of Japan, it was a lot of Japanese Cherry Trees of different sorts.

They make an astonishing and impressive view right now. Here a few examples from the park:

Here are trees of another sort and colour flowering now:

The Casle and park is placed on a hill looking over the bay (Århus Bugt) and the hills on the other side of the bay (Mols Bjerge — translation: Mols Moutains ….  LOL  … it’s  OK you laugh…. I admit our names for our hills are funny: Many of them are called mountains around here – look at the examples in my sidebar).

The planting, architecture and the location of the castle and park – and situated down to the water only a coupple of km.’s from Århus City – makes it a popular place to visit for many inhabitants of the city and suburbs – all the year.

And both the park and the royal garden is open for the public (only when the royal family are here the private garden is closed). The royal family are lucky to have more castles – Marselisborg is “only” their holiday residence 🙂

The last impressions in this post are from the castle and its beautiful garden, I viewed the castle from a group of daffodils 🙂

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2010 3:56 pm

    These are all truly remarkable collages, Truels. Colorful and well designed.

    FYI, I put up my latest photo assignment on my blog today. Thought you might like to join in on the fun. Oh, and any of your readers are also welcome to do so.

    Like

    • May 20, 2010 8:37 pm

      Your photo assignments are a great challenge for me and also this time it brings new aspects up in taking pictures for me. I am trying a little more of the technical possibilities of my DMC-FZ8 – so thank you for inspiring and leading me into new roads!

      Like

  2. May 18, 2010 9:10 pm

    Gorgeous color here! Just beautiful!

    Like

    • May 20, 2010 8:39 pm

      Yes they are very impressive – I will go to Marselisborg soon again 🙂

      Like

  3. March 8, 2014 6:15 am

    The Japanese cherry trees are so beautiful. We had a few in our front yard in Canada and we had many people stop to take pictures of them. I always wished they could stay in blossom forever. This is a fabulously done post!

    Like

    • March 10, 2014 9:52 pm

      I agree with you about this amazing tree.
      Actually this post is also one of my own favorites 🙂

      Like

Trackbacks

  1. Japanese Cherry Tree « Truels' Blog
  2. Facing an elephant in the beech woods? « Truels' Blog
  3. Welcome to the Flower Show! « Truels' Blog

Leave a comment