Skip to content

Flowers in my garden – Red tulip

May 15, 2010

I have many tulips in my garden.

But the small, red botanical tulips are some of those I like most:

I was born in Ribe in Western Jutland, and here were many tulip-fields at that time (they are now outcompeted by Dutch tulip-farmers), and in May there was – and still is – a big Tulip-festival in Ribe. The people in town were competing  making the most creative and impressive decorations around Ribe with tulips, and making the best element in the big parade through the town.

After admiring the tulips – the people in town forgot the tulips – and had a big party…..

If you want to see how the fun is going on during a town festival in a small Danish town, I found some pictures of it – taken last year – on the website of one of the local papers…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2010 3:56 pm

    I like this red color much. My mother had very small tulips with this color under an old large Magnolia. They were among the first flowers every year.
    Do you know that there are many ‘vild’ yellow tulips on the island Bornholm? I have seen them in the first week of May.

    Like

    • May 15, 2010 5:09 pm

      I like my red “wild” botanical tulips – and the other “wild” botanical tulips too. They are smaller than the breeded tulips. I have also yellow “wild” tulips in my garden, (I might post them too:-) ) – I did not know there were many of them on Bornholm – interesting!

      Like

  2. March 8, 2014 6:17 am

    Excellent close up of the tulip!

    Like

Leave a Reply

