Skip to content

Melbourne

January 23, 2012

As in many other cities contrasts meet in Melbourne. Old and new. Nature and culture. Warm and cold. Green and concrete. Joy and sadness. Life and death.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2012 1:39 am

    and what a marvellous photo to illustrate those concepts.

    Like

  2. January 24, 2012 3:14 am

    Fantastic juxtaposition of the old and new.

    Like

    • January 28, 2012 5:41 pm

      Composing contrasts is often powerful – and I think it succeeded well this time!

      Like

  3. January 24, 2012 6:26 am

    Exceptional contrast. I love the way You framed Your bright photo.

    Like

  4. January 24, 2012 11:11 am

    Wonderful contrast!

    Like

    • January 28, 2012 5:43 pm

      I like contrasts – and they are powerful – and wonderful 😉

      Like

  5. January 24, 2012 11:48 am

    Agree with Sybil and Kala – your picture perfectly encapsulates what you have said. Beauuuutiful.

    Like

  6. January 24, 2012 8:32 pm

    very, very nice photo Truels, excellent!!
    regards
    xandi

    Like

  7. January 25, 2012 10:02 pm

    Awesome, – and I think I have a simular photo from my trip to Melbourne…

    I wish you a Happy Thursday!

    Like

    • January 28, 2012 5:46 pm

      I’m looking forward to see your Melbourne-photo – and all your other great shots, Hans!

      Like

  8. January 26, 2012 2:20 am

    I agree with you about Melbourne, one of my favourite cities to visit. Not only for the culture and beauty, but because my lovely son lives there. I know exactly where you were when you took this photo and it is this amazing contrast of old and new architecture that is so intriguing. Did you know that until about 20 years ago, there were no high buildings at all.

    Like

    • January 28, 2012 5:49 pm

      You must know this great city well, when your son lives there. I did not know, that it is only twenty year since they began building these high buildings.

      Like

  9. January 26, 2012 8:53 am

    Melbourne is such a melting-pot of different cultures. Its architecture has preserved old and new together, this is an aspect I loved in this country. I simply love this picture, that so well describe the beauty of this city.

    Like

    • January 28, 2012 6:05 pm

      I also think, that it is often a good idea to build new while preserving the best of the old. And in this way to highlight the best from both by putting new and old together as contrasts. Some years ago they constructed a new, high and very distinctive building with glass front right next to “Den Gamle By” where I work. If you look at the pictures from their website (see link in my sidebar) you can imagine the contrast now to this new building. I will later this year show photos from my workplace – and this contrast!

      Like

  10. January 27, 2012 10:02 am

    A wonderful juxtaposition of the new and old! Well done!

    Like

  11. January 31, 2012 4:43 am

    I do love the composition and the contrast of the old world charm and modern civilization. This image made me think of Manhattan (NYC).

    Like

    • February 4, 2012 6:36 pm

      I’m glad you liked my photo! I hope I will be able to compare with Manhattan (I have never been in NY – or in the eastern USA) within a reasonable time 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment