Skip to content

Århus, Assignment and Australia…..

January 11, 2012

In this post there are none of my photos (my first post without a photo!).

This post marks the end of a series of entries from Denmark. And the beginning of a series of entries from my trip last year to Australia.

Before I move on to Australia, I will give my contribution to Scott Thomas’ latest Assignment “Rule of Thirds” – If you want to participate too, you must make your contribution before Wednesday, January 18, 2012.

Today I will give you a little more information about Århus:

In my last posts I have shown you a glimpse of AROS in Århus.

In fact, Aarhus and Aros is actually the same word! Explanation here:

The name of the town “Århus” was in the Viking Age written “Aros” – a word composed of two words: “ar” and “os”. “ar” means “å”, which is the Danish word for “river”. “os” means “udmunding” which means “mouth”. “Aros” therefore means “river mouth”. And the town is indeed built around the mouth of Århus River 🙂

If you check my Categories-box in the sidebar and find “Århus” – you can find some of my earlier posts about places in and around Århus.

Sometimes it can be a good idea to let somebody from outside your own little world take a look at your own place……:

I came across this video, that gives an American’s views on what is interesting in Århus (including a few scenes from Legoland, from Moesgaard – and of course from my workplace “Den Gamle By”!):

This video is one of many – made by Rick Stevens, Edmonds, Washington, USA.
I can recommend the other videos, he has made from Denmark, too :-):

Frederiksborg CastleØresund Bridge, Roskilde – and Vikings! Ærø, Denmark: Denmark’s Charming Isle Copenhagen, Mermaid and resistanceCopenhagen, ChristianiaCopenhagen, Rosenborg Castle.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2012 8:06 pm

    I really enjoyed the informative video. Looking forward to your Rule of Thirds entry. I’d wanted to enter but am feeling quite overwhelmed and a little intimidated by the thought …

    Like

  2. January 11, 2012 10:46 pm

    Fascinating video!

    Like

  3. January 12, 2012 6:31 am

    This was fascinating and so well narrated – I really liked the images of Legoland and the open air museum – I did not know that this is where you work, Truels?

    Like

    • January 12, 2012 5:25 pm

      I started working there (Den Gamle By) June last year, and I’m SO lucky I got this job – JUST what i had been dreaming of. Of course I will take lots of photographs there during 2012 – there are many fine motives to find there!

      Like

      • January 13, 2012 8:40 pm

        Oh! I really look forward to seeing your photos of your place of work – it does sound like the perfect job for you, actually! 🙂

        Like

  4. January 12, 2012 4:46 pm

    great video and post Truels!
    Just not to have a “understanding” problem, I send you the Led zep link here 😉
    http://xworldmusic.wordpress.com/2011/12/23/music-from-the-uk-led-zeppelin/
    xandi

    Like

    • January 12, 2012 5:28 pm

      Oh yes, I thought I had suggested the live version here:

      BTW:
      How did you like my alternative – the “classical” version?!

      Like

      • January 13, 2012 1:54 pm

        yeah, it’s wonderful!! Will post the suggestions(of course 😉 ) soon!!!
        But I won’t post the live version of Stairway to heaven again 🙂
        Greetings
        xandi

        Like

  5. January 12, 2012 5:43 pm

    Informative video!
    I am looking forward to see your photos from Australia!

    Like

  6. January 13, 2012 9:55 am

    Thanks again for another interesting post. This Legoland would have been just paradise for my two sons – and their parents ! – who were all real fans of legos. Aren’t you lucky to work in such a fascinating open air museum ? That’s wonderful. Last night as I answered your comment on my recent post, I was just wondering “When is truels going to show more pictures of his journey to OZ ?” Now I have an answer 🙂 Look forward to it.

    Like

    • January 13, 2012 11:42 pm

      Oh – I am SO lucky that I got this job last June. I felt I had won the biggest prize in the lottery 🙂
      I hope you one day will come and see Legoland (we’re all kids to enjoy this regardless of age!) – AND visit Den Gamle By – and AROS – and what else you would like ! (and I will be happy to host you – and guide for YOU!

      Like

  7. January 14, 2012 1:58 am

    I can see there is much to visit. I’d not heard of Legoland before.

    Like

    • January 16, 2012 7:16 pm

      The Legoland in Billund, Denmark, was the first Legoland. But since there have been built Legoland’s in more countries – for example in USA, UK and Germany.

      Like

  8. January 15, 2012 5:23 pm

    The only amusement park in the world that I would like to go to is Legoland. Arhus looks like a great cultural city and it’s no wonder you like your job.

    Like

    • January 16, 2012 7:18 pm

      I love my country – and my region. And i hope many people will come here – and fall in love too 😉

      Like

  9. January 17, 2012 8:04 am

    Legoland is one place in Denmark in which I want to visit someday. My first trip to Copenhagen was already in 1960 by boat. I still have photos from it in my old photo album.

    Well, Legoland – some day.

    Like

    • January 17, 2012 4:42 pm

      I hope you will visit Legoland some day – and maybe also Århus?!

      Like

Leave a Reply

