Skip to content

Jordanian portraits (2)

May 31, 2015

 

2 px

Woman, Siq al-Barid,  Jordan.

April 2015.

2 bw px

Color – or monochrome – which is best???

What do you think ?!

….
In my first photo, Jordanian portraits (1), the results were very different in the two versions:
I liked the color version because of the characteristic bedouin scarf, that framed the man’s face. And I also liked the color in his weather-beaten face. As well as the characteristic blurred yellow-orange “desert” color of the background.
In the monochrome version you are not attracted by his eye-catching scarf, which is now more neutral framing his weather-beaten face, the face comes into focus here, which is the strength of this version.
Photo of the day:
In the color photo of the woman above, I like the color of her face for the same reason that I liked the color of the man’s face, but her black clothing is not an eye-catcher now. Now, it is only facial color, which separates the two versions, and I think both photos works equally strong.

 Leanne Cole and her monochrome madness has greatly helped me to re-discover monochrome and its unique qualities.
THANKS, Leanne!
Do you not know Leannes photos – please check them here:  leannecolephotography.com 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2015 3:47 pm

    I’m for the B&W.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. May 31, 2015 4:02 pm

    too difficult for me to chose😮 . Both are very beautiful🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. May 31, 2015 6:38 pm

    I am finding it hard to choose between them, Truels.

    Liked by 1 person

    • May 31, 2015 9:24 pm

      Perhaps you mean – as I do – that both are equally good🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • June 1, 2015 11:04 am

        Exactly! They both have their strong points. B&w photos often have a timeless quality, and tend to focus on the bare essentials, shadow and light, details of texture, strong lines and boundaries… all part of their charm. But colour portraits also have their charms… so, difficult to choose which one is better, because they both are!🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • June 1, 2015 5:37 pm

          I agree with you – It’s interesting: I have not been making B&W photos for many years – but Leanne Cole has opened my eyes for these again, it’s like finding some of my roots again!

          Like

  4. June 1, 2015 2:53 pm

    absolutely Truel- I do like them both- powerful!

    Like

  5. June 12, 2015 2:04 pm

    Although I love B&W photos , here color is great for this kind portrait .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

