Skip to content

Surveillance

January 5, 2013

IMG_6166

A baboon keeps us closely under surveillance – near Lake Manyara, Tanzania.

A note:

I am still not satisfied with with the sharpness and quality of the photos, I try to show here on the blog. That’s why I periodically have put a note both in the sidebar and under my photos. I can not understand, why sharp originals must look so bad. And why do they look much sharper again, when you click on the photo. Maybe some of my dear readers can explain what it takes to get the photos on my posts to be sharp???

The photo in this post is a excellent illustration of the problem:
Try clicking on the photo once. Now it’s a bit better.
Then click a second time – and now it is of a reasonable quality that corresponds to the (1024 x 683) photo, I have used…..

21 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2013 6:05 pm

    Truels, I like this photo it has such character!!

    Like

  2. January 6, 2013 3:05 pm

    Can’t help you on photo stuff like that Truels, but I like the image.

    Like

  3. January 6, 2013 6:38 pm

    At least it was an excellent baboon! The first view is probably just a preview meant for a quick look (and to reduce file size for those still using old-fashioned modems). I have heard that Blogger does something similar.

    Like

  4. January 6, 2013 8:10 pm

    Love the image! I think, generally, you need to match the theme to the size of images you post. There is an optimal image size for each theme. Perhaps check out a theme which will show off your images to your taste and expectations or re-size the images you post to this theme. Have a look at the themes and required image size. Some themes will re-size uploaded images which might be happening here.

    Like

    • January 7, 2013 4:06 pm

      Thanks a lot for trying to help me with this re-zizing problem – I’ll try to do what you suggest and see what happens. Thank you!!!

      Like

  5. January 6, 2013 8:46 pm

    Stilig bilde. Disse apene kunne noen steder være nokså nærgående og plagsomme.
    Ønsker deg en flott ukestart!

    Like

    • January 7, 2013 4:07 pm

      Ja, de er ret nærgående mange af dem.
      God uge til dig også!

      Like

  6. January 7, 2013 12:10 pm

    To elaborate on what Meanderer said above – the fuzziness you see is from the way wordpress is resizing (shrinking) your images from the full size you upload (which is the sharp version you get from clicking twice) to the display size for your theme. The only way around this is tailor the size of the uploaded file to the size your theme shows in the post – that way, you do the shrinking in a proper image editing program, which will resize properly. If you want to stick ith your current theme, Vigilance displays a maximum picture width of 600 pixels (I think), so you’d need to resize your pictures to that width.

    This does mean clicking on the picture won’t give you a bigger picture – if you still want to be able to do that, you need to upload two versions of each picture, and link the larger one so it’s shown when you click on the smaller one you embed in the posts. Not hard to do (I can send you specific instructions if you like), but time consuming so I don’t normally bother.

    And the baboon is very cool 🙂

    Like

    • January 7, 2013 4:18 pm

      Thank you for your great efforts carefully explaining how it relates to WordPress’ upload system. I must try first with this file size – or with a different theme. Now I have also had the same theme since I started 3 years ago, so maybe it’s time for a change here! Once again: Thank you! 🙂

      Like

  7. January 7, 2013 8:02 pm

    If it helps
    For all my photos here I use photoshop’s ‘Save for web’ facility, which has an automatic sharpening facility. I occasionally do another bit of sharpening before I post.
    Most of my images are 600 pixels along the longest axis.

    Like

    • January 8, 2013 4:50 pm

      Thanks to you too – I can see, that you agree with the comments above about the pixel-theory.

      Like

  8. January 8, 2013 6:35 am

    Hi Truels, yes they are vicious animals, it is good not to turn your back on them. As to your photo quality, I have found the same problem. They look good on my screen but I have to make them smaller to upload to the site and I always find the sharpness is lost. I think it has to do with making them smaller. Hope that helps.

    Like

    • January 8, 2013 4:51 pm

      Thank you for writing your comment – I will try to follow the advices above – and hope the best!

      Like

  9. January 8, 2013 7:48 am

    Your photo is indeed great when I see it in bigger format. Its size is in bigger format 1024 * 623, but in Your post it is only 600 *400. It is just here the difference. I solved this problem in my way when starting to blog making a compromise. So my photos have the size 900 * 598 generally.

    Like

    • January 8, 2013 4:53 pm

      Thanks to you too for trying to make me a little wiser about this subject. I hope I will be able to make them bette!

      Like

  10. January 22, 2013 9:09 am

    She/He watching you .. I guess she tries to capture you with her camera ! Are you sure you are in a nice pose or background ? 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

