Skip to content

Color Composition

November 21, 2012

How is colors used for composing photos? – That is what Scott Thomas is asking in his latest Assignment, “Color Composition”. To investigate this, I have first been back in photos, I have already shown here on the blog. Secondly looked in the autumn photos I have taken recently – many of these have been posted here up to now – but today’s have not. Finally I have looked among photos I have captured during my recent travels, and none of these have been posted here before.

My first photo above is from my post “May Landscape” earlier this year. This is one of my own favorite photos!  Actually just an ordinary Danish landscape photo – with the characteristic clear and delicate spring colors. But when I looked at it at home, I saw that there was something special in this picture caused by the colors and especially the yellow color on the field. And the harmonious and beautiful small tree that catches the eye by means of the yellow color.

Talking about colors – I HAD to pick this Australian flower – which is from my post: “ “2″ is my favorite number in these days!” . So clear and powerful colors – growing in the roadside – in stunning contrast to the grass there…

Colors do not need to be so strong as the flower or the yellow field above. Like many of you I love the light in the morning – and evening. In my case, I prefer the evenings ….:
One of the evenings, I will remember for a long time, was this evening near Grærup at the Danish West Coast by the North Sea. Throughout the evening  the light was changing  the landscape – and the sky. And thus changed the colors. The warm colors gave the landscape and vegetation a totally magical touch. Later, the sky was colored by completely overwhelming and strong colors: red, orange and yellow colors with very dramatic effects:

Both these photos are from my contribution to Scott’s ealier Assignment “Rule of Thirds”.

Another factor affecting our environment and hence our photos of this is the seasons, thus the same location looks quite different in the four seasons. In the following winter photo the blue and cold colors dominate:

This photo – and the other photos from the other 3 season here – are from one of my earlier posts: My contribution to another of Scott’s Assignments:  “Four Seasons” – please use this link to see how different this avenue, Vilhelmsborg Allé, appears in the four seasons…

These two autumn photos are captured around a month ago this year. If you have seen some of my previous posts – you may remember, that I was lucky to capture many of the autumn colors this year. Even on a grey and cloudy day the warm colors of autumn dominate the nature in this park in Tranbjerg near my hometown. And the gardeners here made ​​a nice job creating and keeping this beech circle 🙂

This photo is captured in Australia last year. I read about this “Blue Lake” in Mt. Gambier, South Australia before my visit there. But I must admit, that I was surprised when I saw it with my own eyes: The blue color was incredibly blue, an impressive sight. I have never seen a lake with a deep blue color like this!
The color probably derives from substances from the underground, which are dissolved in the water.

Uluru (Ayers Rock) in Northern Territory, Australia, is one of the most stunning  places, I have ever been. A  sacred place full of magic and stories both for the country’s indigenous Aboriginal population – and for the many tourists who travel here. Normally, almost everything in the area is red as the earth color. But not in 2011, where much rain had fallen for the first time in decades. But the green color from all the plants, that were woken from their long hibernation, reinforced in my opinion only further how beautiful the amazing red rock formation is. The incredible colors enhance the fairytale magic that exists around the impressive place. And I’ve rarely seen anything as beautiful as when the morning light broke through and threw its warm light at Uluru…..

My last photo shows, that strong colors are also symbols of joy of life, dancing, laughter and hospitality. In the summer 2012 I visited a Masai village in Tanzania. Here we were welcomed with singing and dancing, and we were shown around in the village, visited a family and the school. (I will show much more from my visit in this masai village later here on my blog!).
Right from the first moment I traveled in Tanzania I saw Masai people walking through the countryside with their herds of cattle. Every time I met these beautiful and proud people I was impressed by how they ALL were always dressed in the most colorful costumes, you can imagine. All of them. Always!

33 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2012 11:58 pm

    What an amazing collection of photos. My favourite is the black and white snow one ! 🙂

    Like

  2. November 22, 2012 6:21 am

    beautiful color photos

    Like

    • November 25, 2012 10:28 pm

      Thank you. And thanks for stopping by and writing a comment!!!

      Like

  3. November 22, 2012 2:45 pm

    What a fabulous world tour you invited us to, Truels ! And what striking colours. It is difficult to choose a favourite, in fact I love each of them for their particular setting and subject. Maybe… I should mention the first one for its beautiful composition and shades. Thanks and bravo !

    Like

    • November 25, 2012 10:36 pm

      Thanks and bravo to you for your nice comments, Isa. I have been busy and not visiting other blogs for a while – but will do that in the following days. Also yours 🙂

      Like

  4. November 22, 2012 3:11 pm

    Truly perfect examples of color comps!!!

    Like

  5. November 23, 2012 2:26 pm

    Wow, Truels! You found some really amazing examples for Scott’s assignment! The blue lake is stunning! I also really love the yellow and green field as well as the gorgeous sunset.

    Like

  6. November 26, 2012 9:59 am

    Awesome! I am speechless!

    Like

  7. November 26, 2012 3:26 pm

    Wonderful images from around the world. My favorite is the top one, that yellow in the composition really works. I would say that the snow covered trees are magnificent, but then I might have snow here soon.

    Like

    • November 29, 2012 11:31 pm

      I really LOVE the first photo too! And I like A FEW things about the winter – such a freezing, clear and sunny day is one of them 😉

      Like

  8. November 26, 2012 5:52 pm

    Colors are very inviting .

    Like

  9. November 26, 2012 6:06 pm

    The first one is my favorite . That sky .. that light and shadow .. that tree ..
    WONDERFUL .

    Like

    • November 29, 2012 11:33 pm

      I am glad that you also love that first one. I have loved it more and more every time I look at it 🙂

      Like

  10. November 27, 2012 5:44 pm

    You blew me away with this one, Truels. Thank you for contributing to my blog’s assignment this month!

    Like

    • November 29, 2012 11:34 pm

      Oh, Scott, your comment blew me away too. I am pleased – thank you 🙂

      Like

  11. November 28, 2012 6:13 pm

    Har samme opplevelse som deg med Masai-folket.
    Men, møtte Masaiere som var “konfirmanter”. 21 år (de teller ikke de 7 første årene ble vi fortalt) De var kledt i svart/hvitt!

    Like

    • November 29, 2012 11:36 pm

      Ja, dem så vi også mange af. Men fik kun mindre gode “stjålne” fotos af dem! Hvor så de dog specielle – og lidt skræmmende ud!

      Like

  12. November 28, 2012 6:16 pm

    Herlige bilder du legger ut i denne posten. Vil også kommentare den fantastiske blå-farga på vannet!
    Uluru er jo stilig uansett! Bildene her passer godt til innleggets navn, flott Truels!

    Like

    • November 29, 2012 11:37 pm

      Tak for dine kommentarer, Hans. Og ja, hvor er farver dog fantastiske 😉

      Like

  13. December 22, 2012 8:54 pm

    Great shots! I particularly like the third one. Great muted colors and use of the puddle 🙂

    Like

  14. December 31, 2012 8:19 am

    Such beautiful collections of photos you’ve captured. The Blue Lake in Australia is truly amazing.

    Like

    • January 15, 2013 9:47 pm

      Thanks for stopping by and writing your comment, sorry I haven’t replied before now 🙂

      Like

  15. January 15, 2013 2:45 pm

    These photos are spectacular, Truels, and I don’t know which one I like best! That first one, with the patch of yellow in the sunlight is so eye-catching. And I really like the winter photo with the trees in the snow – and the one with the sunset and the birds flying riiiiight at the top of the photo – and the one of Ayers Rock … and the one of the colourful Masai…. oh, I can’t choose!

    Like

    • January 15, 2013 9:50 pm

      Wow – I am so flattered by your nice comment, Reggie! Hope you enjoy the summer down there? 😉

      Like

      • January 16, 2013 11:15 am

        Gosh, yes, it has been sooo hot these last few days. The aircon in my car doesn’t work well at the moment (I need to re-gas it), and after doing much driving this morning, my car was like an oven inside. So I cooled off in the swimming pool, which was fantastic.

        Like

        • January 17, 2013 3:35 pm

          I hope you’ll get the aircon fixed (I do not have aircon in my Volvo from 1996!).
          I’m a little envious of the warm summer weather – and the trip in the pool! 😉

          Like

Trackbacks

  1. Assignment 22: Recap | Views Infinitum

Leave a Reply

