Skip to content

National Gallery of Australia

April 1, 2012

Canberra – National Gallery of Australia.

The Aboriginal Memorial.

When I visited this excellent art museum in January 2011, I only managed to take this photo in the museum – before I was made aware, that photography was not allowed there.

I hope the museum will forgive me, that I bring this photo! Maybe forgiveness will more easily be given me, if I encourage all, who get the chance, to visit the museum and see all the amazing works of art gathered here. Not least all the many unique artworks made by the Australian  indigenous Aboriginal people.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2012 11:45 am

    Very cool place, the last shot was great!

    Like

  2. a1nunn permalink
    April 2, 2012 2:33 am

    I think it’s a pity that photography is not allowed. I can see them not wanting flash photography but what’s the harm otherwise ?

    Lovely photos.

    Like

    • April 2, 2012 10:29 pm

      Maybe it’s something with copyright and protection of the artists works.

      Like

      • a1nunn permalink
        April 15, 2012 3:37 pm

        Encountered the same thing in the National Gallery in Athens … so very frustrating. The artists are looooong dead there. But by not letting you take photos, if you want to keep those images, you’ve got to buy the very pricey brochure. Hmmmm.

        Like

  3. April 2, 2012 6:59 pm

    What a shame you can’t take photographs in there, as I’d love to see the inside too… and it’s a bit far for me to come.. lol.

    Like

    • April 2, 2012 10:32 pm

      Do not worry – click on the link above and you can see a lot of what’s inside this amazing gallery!

      Like

  4. April 2, 2012 9:58 pm

    Great shot! It looks as Didgeridoo to me…
    I wish you a great Easter, Truels!

    Like

    • April 2, 2012 10:34 pm

      You can read more about this installation in the link, it starts with this: “The Aboriginal Memorial is an installation of 200 hollow log coffins from Central Arnhem Land. It commemorates all the indigenous people who, since 1788, have lost their lives defending their land”…..
      I wish you a happy and peaceful Easter too!

      Like

  5. April 3, 2012 12:49 am

    I love those sculptures outside too. The modern gallery in Melbourne has the same installation inside. It is very interesting.

    Like

    • April 4, 2012 11:12 pm

      Did you notice the big round ball that “fly” to the left of the building?!!!

      Like

  6. April 3, 2012 1:15 pm

    I hope you are forgiven, for this was very interesting. I have never seen anything like this before.

    Like

  7. April 4, 2012 7:44 am

    Really a cool place Truels!
    Regards,
    xandi

    Like

  8. April 4, 2012 11:14 pm

    Cool, yes it is! Thanks for your comment, Xandi.

    Like

Leave a Reply

