Skip to content

AROS – “Your Rainbow Panorama” – and my wishes for a Happy and colorful New Year to all of you!

January 1, 2012

AROS is the name of our Art Museum here in Aarhus. A modern and new museum, which already after a few years has distinguished itself in the Danish museum world and abroad.

In 2011 a new permanent exhibition opened, “Your Rainbow Panorama”, a gigantic installation with a weight of 250,000 kg, built on top of the entire museum building (whose structures had to be reinforced to carry this construction)!!

The artist behind this artwork is Olafur Eliasson. He has for many years created large installations, not only in Denmark but at a large extent abroad throughout the world. An impressive and great example is New York City Waterfalls (2008).

Olafur Eliasson is a master of creating new dimensions to art through his installations. His tools include is light, color, movement – and large dimensions. Here, on top of a square, heavy and earth-bound museum building is added a new, light, round and bright circle in rainbow colors, and it connects the museum-building with the sky and its light and colors.

At night, the rainbow is shining over the city in all its colors. And by day you walk inside the circular rainbow. You experience yourself – and the city and the outside world – through all the light and the rainbow colors. You experience the city, the sky, the sun and the colors play with your senses adding the outside world colorful new dimensions and experiences.

One of the current exhibitions at AROS is a temporary exhibition with other selected installations by Olafur Eliasson.

The following photos are from my first visit to “Your Rainbow Panorama” in October 2011.

Indeed a colorful experience!: (Please click on the photos – for a better view!)

Photos of the AROS Museum of Art – the building from outside:

I wish you all a Happy, Peaceful, Colorful and Photogenic New Year!

33 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2012 8:50 pm

    This seems to be very special, – I would love to see the museum!
    Very good photos.

    Jeg ønsker deg et flott nytt fotoår og takker samtidig for all inspirasjon jeg har fått her inne hos deg!

    Like

    • January 4, 2012 12:16 am

      I hope you will be able to come and visit AROS – and some of the other nice places around here. I would be happy to guide you 😉
      And I also thank you for your inspiration to me through your photos. And I wish you all the best for 2012!

      Like

  2. January 1, 2012 10:13 pm

    What a wonderful and impressive exhibition which looks great both from the inside and outside. I love the idea. When I was a child I used to hold coloured cellophane sweet wrappers up to my eyes to change the colour of my environment so this appeals to me very much!

    Like

    • January 4, 2012 12:20 am

      Olafur Eliasson did the same as you did as a child – and became a famous and wealthy artist!!!! So: Go for it 😉 – Your basis in the art of photography is certainly in order!

      Like

  3. January 1, 2012 11:21 pm

    What a lovely installation. I would love to walk around it, looking at the city below.

    Happy 2012.

    Like

  4. January 2, 2012 12:24 am

    Hei Truels! Takk for hyggelig hilsen 🙂 Riktig godt nytt år til deg også!

    En spennende plass du har besøkt der, flotte bilder derfra!

    Like

    • January 4, 2012 12:23 am

      Hej Rune. Dejligt med en hilsen oppe fra Nord 😉 – Jeg håber du viser mange flere fine fotos i 2012!

      Like

  5. January 2, 2012 5:22 am

    What an amazing structure. I love the outside view you have given which gives us a clear idea of how the colourful rainbow installation fits onto the building. Great series and so interesting.

    Like

    • January 4, 2012 12:24 am

      Thank you, Frances. And thanks for all your fine photos from Down Under. I love them!!!

      Like

  6. January 2, 2012 7:13 am

    Happy New Year to you and your family Truels.
    The installation on top of AROS is one more reason for going to Århus (or Aarhus).

    Like

    • January 4, 2012 12:32 am

      I know our (former) Mayor (now minister!) changed our city-name from Århus to Aarhus! But value the Danish letters “Æ” “Ø” and “Å” – so I use Århus 😉
      I hope I one day can show you AROS and some of the other attractions, we have…

      Like

  7. January 2, 2012 12:12 pm

    It looks fabulous, inside and out.

    Like

  8. January 2, 2012 3:27 pm

    Magnificent place – and view!

    Like

  9. January 2, 2012 4:01 pm

    Wow, that is amazing! I’d love to see that in person! Hope your 2012 is everything you could ever dream it to be! 🙂

    Like

  10. January 2, 2012 10:10 pm

    Happy 2012

    A very intersting start , colorfull enough , exciting enough , good information .
    and somthing is funny : AROS means bride in our language !
    Very happy holiday .

    Like

    • January 4, 2012 12:43 am

      I wish you and your family and friends in Iran all my BEST for the time to come…
      And AROS means bride in your language (is it not called “FARSI” ?) … —
      If you lokk at Wikipedia:
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aros
      Aros means several different things. But in Denmark, it is the Viking name for “my” city, Århus, the second largest city in Denmark – only 12 km.’s from the little town, Mårslet, where I live.

      Like

  11. January 2, 2012 10:33 pm

    Wonderful installation indeed.

    Best wishes to you too.

    Like

    • January 4, 2012 12:46 am

      Thank you. And I must say, that I like to read all your posts on “UnleashCreativity”, they are VERY inspiring. I hope ALL my readers know it…..!

      Like

  12. January 3, 2012 6:40 am

    Hello, I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Congratulations! Check my page for nomination.

    Versatile Blogger Award

    Like

    • January 4, 2012 1:03 am

      Oh, Thank you, I am honored, Matti. I must be honest to say, that I have also got this nomination from http://xworldmusic.wordpress.com earlier in December. I have not really examined what it means. But I must try to do that now! I will check your page (and Xandi’s again).

      Like

  13. January 3, 2012 6:46 am

    Such an unusual way of seeing the world, Truels… thank you for these amazing photos!

    Like

  14. January 3, 2012 4:44 pm

    thanks Truels! A Happy and succesful and wihout much ilness New Year!
    Nice shots by the way 😉
    peace!

    Like

  15. January 3, 2012 9:56 pm

    WOW that is so COOL!

    Like

  16. January 4, 2012 10:17 am

    wow! I love the photos from inside, really gorgeous!

    Like

  17. January 4, 2012 11:54 am

    Magnificent place! Well captured.

    Like

Leave a Reply

