Skip to content

Scammell’s Lookout

August 8, 2011

Not far from Geehi, NSW, Ausralia, where we met all the kangaroos, you will find Scammell’s Lookout, with some breathtaking mountain views.

I have picked two different photos from this place. I couldn’t choose between them, so I publish both of them.

Now you have the choice!

Which one do you prefer – and why?!

30 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2011 8:54 pm

    Oh darn it’s hard to choose. Often when I take a load of pictures, I later sit at my computer switching back and forth between two similar shots trying to choose the better one. This one ? Or this one ?

    I like the distant mountain in the second shot. BUT I like the five layers of scenery in the first.

    OK. The first one won for me because of those “layers”

    They’re both lovely.

    Like

    • August 11, 2011 9:15 pm

      I do like you do with my (many) photos. But this time I could not decide which was best of these two, I appreciate your comment and give one point to the first…..

      Like

  2. August 8, 2011 10:59 pm

    I like the first image better….just seems to be better balanced. I wish there were more sky above the mountain top…it looks like the top of the mountain is confined by the frame. If there were more sky in #2, it would probably be the winner since it has tremendous DOF and the details in the leaves is nice.

    Like

    • August 11, 2011 9:18 pm

      One point more for the first one! The top of the mountain is not confined by the frame, but it was SO misty and cloudy that day….

      Like

  3. August 9, 2011 1:06 am

    Wow, dream-like scenes, Truels.

    Like

  4. August 9, 2011 5:49 am

    Det første synes jeg er best.

    Like

  5. August 9, 2011 1:14 pm

    I prefer the second because the colors are deeper and with more of the greenery, I feel it has greater perspective.

    Like

    • August 11, 2011 9:21 pm

      Thanks, Tammy – I appreciate these comments very much. 3 – 1 to no. 1…..

      Like

  6. Carsten permalink
    August 9, 2011 5:54 pm

    Of these beautiful photos I prefer the first. They are not very different, but to me there is more depth in the first. The very far mountain is more visible because we can see more of the mountain against the sky.

    Like

    • August 11, 2011 9:23 pm

      Exciting with more and more nuanced views on the two pictures. 4 – 1 to no. 1 now.

      Like

  7. August 10, 2011 2:52 pm

    i prefer the first one, but im not too sure why…guess it just looks more majestic somehow… 🙂

    Like

  8. August 10, 2011 5:21 pm

    Breathtaking was the word. I’m a of such partially clouded/foggy vistas.

    Like

  9. August 11, 2011 10:17 am

    Both are beautiful views….I love the layers of mist into the distance.

    Like

    • August 11, 2011 9:27 pm

      OK – I will give a point to both pictures this time! = 6 – 2 to no. 1.

      Like

  10. August 12, 2011 6:17 pm

    They’re both lovely photos, but I prefer the bolder contrasts in the second image.

    Like

  11. August 14, 2011 1:10 pm

    Like Carsten I prefer the first one because there seems to be more depth in it. Although both look quite similar. The forest range in front (second image) is a bit too “present”, I find. Whereas the layers at the back is really what attracts me. A wonderful place and trip.

    Like

    • August 14, 2011 6:24 pm

      It is so fine to read all these comments and views – your included! Regarding the forest in front in the second I felt the same – it became a little too dominant….

      Like

  12. August 14, 2011 7:10 pm

    It is difficult to choose! I think I go for the 2nd one!

    Like

  13. August 16, 2011 5:57 am

    I like the first one better, it has less greenery and love the mountains and the fluffy clouds.

    Like

    • August 16, 2011 6:38 pm

      That gives a 8 – 4. But the best is all the the arguments, I learn a lot from those!

      Like

  14. August 18, 2011 4:41 pm

    Without looking at what the others have said, I like the first one. The cool colored clouds and mountains fill the frame with just enough foreground with the green vegetation to give it depth and interest.

    Like

    • August 18, 2011 8:02 pm

      More good comments and arguments – and now the winner is found 😉 – the first photo.

      Like

  15. August 29, 2011 8:32 am

    The first one, but the choice is not so easy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

