Skip to content

Sculpture By The Sea (3)

July 1, 2011

Read in my previous posts about the exhibition “Sculpture By The Sea”.

Here is my third post with photos from the exhibition:

Artist: Sasha Reid & Dominique Sutton (Australia)

Title: Melt

Statement: “The work is a quiet reminder of the effects of global warming on the sea level”

The sculpture consists of 5 of these special boats.

Artist: Lisa Anderson (Australia)

Title: Precious

Artist:Jørn Rønnau (Denmark)

Title:Interactions

Jørn Rønnau has created a number of sculptures and environmental art from wood and stone in Denmark and abroad.

Artist: Poul Bækhøj (Denmark)

Title: Screwing by the sea

In the foreground:

Artist: Anna Gunnarsdottir (Iceland)

Title: Procreation

Statement: “Felt-making involves the integration of woolen fibres. In my work, a feminine seashell is procreating with a masculine one on the sea-shore”.

Behind this:

Artist: Mehdi Yarmohammadi (Iran)

Title: The bird

Behind this you can among others see this:

Artist: IIan Sandler (Canada)

Title: Beach Chair

This is the southern end of the exhibition.

The work here is:

Artist: Marc Moser (Switzerland)

Title: Sea pink

I will publish one more post about “Sculpture By The Sea” next week.

Note: The selection of works on this blog are my own, and I have quoted the artists’ statements from the exhibition catalogue, where I found that they could help illustrating the work.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2011 7:16 pm

    Okay, the GIGANTIC screws and sunglasses are a HOOT! LOVE the name on the sunglasses…so clever!

    Like

    • July 17, 2011 8:36 pm

      I hope you like my last post – published today – about this lovely event 😉

      Like

  2. July 3, 2011 8:41 pm

    Oh, I missed this one.
    Even though Denmark is a small country – Aarhus is far away just for visiting an exhibition.
    Next time I’ll try harder getting there.

    Like

    • July 17, 2011 8:52 pm

      I hope to see you here next time – in 2013. Or before – to see some other nice spots or attractions!

      Like

  3. July 4, 2011 2:54 am

    My favorites are the screws and the boats on sticks. This is one fabulous exhibit.

    Like

  4. July 4, 2011 11:10 am

    I think Screwing by the Sea takes the cake. What an awesome exhibit.

    Like

  5. July 5, 2011 1:21 am

    I love the boats on sticks and the felt creations. I’d love to see them up close.

    Like

  6. July 6, 2011 7:58 am

    Totally amazing and so very creative ! Artworks and titles. My favourite are the boats on sticks. Clever and striking. Thank you so much truels. I really enjoyed visiting this exhibit by the sea.

    Like

    • July 17, 2011 8:58 pm

      I’m glad you enjoyed the exhibition too – I’m already looking foreward to the next one – in 2013!

      Like

  7. July 8, 2011 6:12 pm

    I sure could not create artwork like this but I sure can enjoy and marvel at them. I hope they find the giant who lost his/her sunglasses. 🙂

    Like

    • July 17, 2011 9:02 pm

      I’m glad the giant did not decide to increase the excitement by turning up when I was there!!

      Like

  8. July 16, 2011 7:46 am

    Some very interesting sculptures.

    Like

  9. July 20, 2011 6:29 am

    Very enjoyable art indeed. Especially I loved those huge sunglasses and the photo called: “Screwing by the sea”, which reminded me from my post:

    Art made from plates, chains and bolts

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Man At Sea # 2 « Truels' Blog
  2. Sculpture by the Sea – Århus 2013 | Truels' Blog

Leave a Reply

