Skip to content

Sculpture By The Sea

June 20, 2011

Sculpture By The Sea is a large outdoor exhibition, that is only taking place two places in the world:

In Australia (Sydney and Perth). It is Australia’s largest outdoor sculpture exhibition. It was initiated in 1996 at Bondi Beach, and it featured sculptures which were made by both Australian and overseas artists.

And in Århus, Denmark. In 2009 the first exhibition was opened in Århus, and now in 2011 the second “Sculpture By The Sea” is open right now – June 2 – July 3, 2011, showing more than 65 large sculptures and installations made by artists from more than 20 different countries. If you are living around Århus – or are visiting Denmark this summer – you should visit this exhibition! 😉

I’ve been there a few times – and will visit the exhibition again before it closes – if I get time for it. It is a beautiful and impressive exhibition – located in scenic surroundings close to the center of town, and right by Marselisborg Forest and Castle.

Here are a few glimpses of what I’ve seen at the exhibition:

Artist: Gary Deirmendjian (Australia)

Title: Consumer Temple

Statement: “The architecture may hint at a house of worship from a forgotten time, its deity and practices may feel oddly familiar. Clearly abandoned, the faiththat has brought this houseinto beeing is no longer dispensed.”

Consumer Temple – detail.

View towards south from the north end of the exhibition (by Tangkrogen):

From left:

Artist: Oliver van den Berg (Germany)

Title: Transmittertower

And then:

Artist: Ferreiro Badia (Spain)

Title: Kinetic Interference

And:

Artist: Geoffrey Drake-Brockman (Australia)

Title: Counter

Statement: “Counter is an interactive artwork that literally counts the people who walk trough it. Counter sets up the question: “Do you want to be counted?” ”

More about the last sculpture, the house to the right, here:

Artist: The glue society (Australia) – A creative collective based in Sydney and New York.

Title: I wish you hadn’t asked

This rather ugly house is probably the place in the exhibition, which is most fun and activity: A house where it rains heavily – inside!

Artist: Hiroaki Nakayama (Japan)

Title: Came Back

Statement: “We who have a place to return to are fortunate. Aiming to have excellent relations with landscape, sculpture nad people.”

Artist: Morgan Jones (New Zealand)

Title: Keyhole

Statement: “The sculpture concerns imprisonment, release and the freedom of the individual.”

Artist: Václav Fiala (Czech Republic)

Title: Chapel no. 2

Chapel no. 2 – detail.

Artist: Esben Klemann (Denmark)

Title: Roadblock, building and pavement

Statement: “I constantly move around in my expression. Which is what I do in this exhibition, by working on the street, the building and the pavement I hope to change the experience of art”

I will be back with more from “Sculpture By The Sea 2011” in my coming posts….

Note: The selection of works on this blog are my own, and I have quoted the artists’ statements from the exhibition catalogue, where I found that they could help illustrating the work.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2011 6:06 am

    Thanks Truels. I love Sculpture by the Sea and go every year to the one at Bondi -it’s wonderful to see some photos from the other side of the world -they take on a very different look. Hopefully I’ll get to see it in Cottosloe WA and Denmark one day. Cheers Sue

    Like

    • June 27, 2011 3:29 pm

      I hope you will get here to see the exhibition in 2013 😉 – I would like to see it at Bondi (missed it in Febuary/March this year – what time of the year is it there??

      Like

  2. June 21, 2011 12:12 pm

    I can only imagine the impact of these exhibits in person! Imagine that…a house that rains INSIDE! ‘Key Hole’ caught my atttention…must be the red. Just dying to see the view through the hole.

    Thanks for the tour, Truels! Looking forward to seeing more. 🙂

    Like

    • June 27, 2011 3:30 pm

      I’m glad you liked “Tour 1” – now I posted next tour…. 🙂

      Like

  3. June 26, 2011 1:21 pm

    It would be so interesting to wander along the shore and view these sculptures. Outdoor art exhibits can be so intriguing. Thank you for posting this.

    Like

    • June 27, 2011 3:32 pm

      You are right – the surroundings means a lot for this exhibition – and they are great here!

      Like

  4. June 29, 2011 4:17 am

    Sculpture By The Sea is great idea. All are very interesting, but most of all I love that one made from wood.

    Like

  5. June 29, 2011 7:48 am

    jeg ser at jeg burde lagt ferien til Århus i år, men det blir det nok ikke. Jeg er glad du har formidlet disse praktfulle verkene til oss andre 🙂

    Like

    • July 24, 2011 3:31 pm

      Du må komme næste gang – om 2 år! Kommer du forbi heromkring – så sig til, jeg viser gerne rundt – eller giver en øl, et måltid eller???

      Like

  6. June 30, 2011 4:00 am

    The Roadblock, building and pavement looks so odd to me, I guess I have a hard time seeing it as art. I would enjoy visiting this exhibit especially when it’s by the ocean.

    Like

    • July 24, 2011 3:32 pm

      I hope you come to Denmark once, I would be happy to help you then!

      Like

  7. June 30, 2011 1:00 pm

    I have never seen a sculpture exhibition by the sea. Beautiful setting and lots of artistic talents there. I particularly liked the “Came back” :we who have a place to come back are fortunate. Beautiful words and thoughts. Also I like the concept of “Keyhole” for imprisonment. The moment you chose to capture the sculpture is perfect : the two girls escaping to freedom ! I love this idea and realisation. Thank you truels.

    Like

  8. July 23, 2011 10:43 pm

    Hi Truels, thanks for your visit and sorry it has taken me so long to comment. I wanted to tell you that we also have a few Sculpture by the Sea exhibitions in NZ. The annual event in my local town is called Sculpture on the Shore and I’m attaching a link to my 2008 album. https://picasaweb.google.com/fsha026/SculptureOnTheShore2008. I have posted over the years on Am3 too. We also recently visited Sculpture on the Gulf, http://www.flickr.com/photos/fsharp/5493757848/in/photostream, which is a short ferry boat ride from Auckland CBD to Waiheke Island, also an annual event.
    I loved seeing your sculpture exhib photos and particularly enjoyed the NZ participants.

    Like

  9. July 24, 2011 3:48 pm

    Thank you VERY much for the comment and for the links to Sculpture on the Shore 2008 / Sculpture on the Gulf. It seems like you have a lot of these nice exhibitions “down under”. I would love to see one if I come to NZ or Australia again.

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Sculpture by the Sea – Århus 2013 | Truels' Blog

Leave a Reply

