Skip to content

Walnut snaps – (2)

May 3, 2011

I have made many different spirits during the last more than 30 years, none of them beats walnut snaps! And I have tried several herbs and plants (leaves, flowers, roots or fruits) – which I add to unflawored snaps (40 % alcohol) sold everywhere in Denmark in supermarkets and drugstores.

In the old days people here “burned” their own alcohol ( illicit distilling – which is illegal in Denmark nowadays!) – and then collected herbs and plants for flavouring the alcohol. Because this has been a tradition for centuries, many recipes for what to use and how to do it are today found in books or on the Internet. Here I have found much inspiration and advice – also about what plants you should NOT use! (toxic eg.)

In my post from September 2010 I showed how I start making my favorite:

Walnut snaps.

The next step was to be patient – and wait for at least 6 months…

Now 8 months have gone! Today I will show you what I did now.

Can you recognize the glass with the halved walnuts covered with snaps? Additionally we now need: A new clean glass or decanter, a funnel and a filter bag.

Now pour the snaps through the filter into the decanter.

While the snaps slowly passes through the filter we may take a closer look at the 8 months old half walnuts.

Now you close the decanter carefully.

And WAIT! Again!

Meanwhile – for the next many months we can watch the  colour of the snaps evolve and change – there is life in the liquid!

4 days later – today – the walnut snaps looks like this…. The color will continue to change for a long period.

You can drink this in 2012, but it gets better the longer it is stored! I have a more than 10 year old walnut snaps – there’s not much left. It tastes great – and will be even better if I stored it longer – a very difficult task !
The result of the above process is a concentrate – and you drink it by diluting the concentrate with 6 to 8 times unflavoured snaps. Later…… Much later!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2011 4:18 am

    It’s very interesting. If you make it every year, then you have plenty to go around. Do you drink this like wine or liquor?

    Like

    • May 4, 2011 8:34 pm

      You drink it like liquor – it is strong: around 40% alcohol. I do not make this every year. But after we got our own walnut tree in our garden, I make it quite often – and much more than we can drink ourselves. And I realised that a bottle of homemade walnut snaps is a good gift, which generates great joy for example for a birthday!

      Like

  2. May 4, 2011 4:43 am

    Wow, so long process! If You really can make this and wait and wait and wait, then it must goooood! 🙂

    Happy Wednesday!

    Like

    • May 4, 2011 8:37 pm

      It IS GOOD!!! Like a good cognac.
      Cheers – and I wish you a good day up in Finland!

      Like

  3. May 4, 2011 3:58 pm

    You take orders? 😀

    Like

    • May 4, 2011 8:44 pm

      Appearing in person allows tastings – and If you are lucky presents 🙂
      But perhaps I should consider opening a business?!

      Like

  4. May 5, 2011 12:29 am

    Wow – makin’ your own moonshine now are we? 😉

    What a fascinating concoction! I imagine you have many, MANY happy friends! 🙂

    Like

    • May 5, 2011 6:29 am

      Moonshine is much better than the black night….
      I’m lucky to have many good friends who like to enjoy a small walnut snaps – or two – sometimes in a pleasant moment ….

      Like

  5. May 5, 2011 1:01 am

    Such a long process of waiting, I learned something here, although I do not drink the stuff myself. I liked seeing your photo through the process.

    Like

  6. May 6, 2011 6:38 am

    Very interesting indeed. I’m a teetotaler myself, but am still fascinated by the process.

    Like

  7. May 7, 2011 6:37 pm

    A patient and slow process with a very rewarding outcome. Love how the colour changes as the snaps mature

    Like

  8. May 15, 2011 3:07 pm

    Wow! Cool! Moonshine with walnuts! Awesome post. I applaud your patience. I would never be able to do this, I would end up eating all the walnuts. By the way… NICE DECANTER! Is that Czech crystal? It makes the contents look expensive and desirable, just like cognac.

    Like

Leave a Reply

