Skip to content

Flowers from Blue Mountains, Australia (3)

May 1, 2011

This beautiful flower was very common here in this part of Australia, a kind of lily I think…. Here in the light from the sunset in Katoomba.

Maybe Lynn Wiles –  or other readers know the name?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2011 6:38 pm

    I think you are right according to the name…
    A nice shot. All colors in Australia is so strong, this lily is a good example.

    Like

  2. May 1, 2011 8:20 pm

    I think I know it as a garden plant in the UK, crocosmia
    http://www.halcyonplants.co.uk/index.php?page=browsing&category_id=46

    Like

    • May 3, 2011 1:42 pm

      It certainly looks like you found the right plant here, thank you!

      Like

  3. May 2, 2011 7:34 am

    Beautiful composition and light on the black background.

    Like

  4. May 2, 2011 8:32 am

    I love the vibrant colours of these exotic little flowers.

    Like

    • May 3, 2011 1:44 pm

      I found them often in this area, and stopped and admired them just as often….

      Like

  5. May 2, 2011 9:55 pm

    It’s very pretty, whatever it is. I like the black background, too.

    Like

  6. May 3, 2011 12:17 pm

    I just lucked out with the kangaroo paw, but can’t help with this or the one below. I think Mrs. UHDD is right.

    Like

  7. May 4, 2011 4:22 am

    It’s a beautiful flower and nice composition, I really like the dark background.

    Like

  8. May 8, 2011 8:07 pm

    Gorgeous picture and flower, orange is my favourite colour, as well as green. I remember seeing this flower growing wild in Madagascar. It would embellish any bouquet you would pick.

    Like

Leave a Reply

