Skip to content

Icy beach

January 8, 2011

This is Moesgård Strand south of Århus. Where there are NO icebergs – but this day – December 26, 2010 – there was ice everywhere on the beach, the large stones, used for coastal protection, and the poles used to mount the bath bridges in the summertime.

The “icebergs” here are poles used to mount the bath bridges.

Many of the inland waters in Denmark has started to freeze so much now, that the icebreakers (which have not been operating for many years) now have to start working, if our cold winter weather continues. But here there was no ice on the water – yet.

Many people in Denmark are winter-bathers, I prefer to enjoy and photograph the view  at this time of the year….

25 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2011 2:46 pm

    That’s quite a sight!

    Like

  2. January 8, 2011 9:57 pm

    That pale, blue-green ice is just wonderful, Truels. I can’t imagine being a “winter bather!” I love the perspective of the second-to-last shot.

    Like

    • January 11, 2011 10:33 am

      Thanks – so you watched the winter-bather video?!!! Brrrrrrr…….!

      Like

  3. January 9, 2011 12:37 am

    Your icy beach is beautiful to look at, but it must be really cold.

    Like

  4. January 9, 2011 7:56 am

    These are awesome photos. I am not winter bather, but here where I live there are plenty of them.

    Like

    • January 11, 2011 10:37 am

      I was in Finland many years ago, and the only time in my life I have been a “Viking” – it was when we went in sauna – and then ran out in the snow – and the toughest of us went out on the ice and jumped into the icy water!!!!

      Like

  5. January 9, 2011 10:43 am

    Swimming with that much ice? You have got to be kidding! (Or am I betraying my Australian-ness here?)

    Like

    • January 11, 2011 10:38 am

      I’m NOT kidding! MANY Danish people do that, and it’s becoming more and more popular!

      Like

  6. January 9, 2011 10:10 pm

    beautiful – the first image is really mysterious – I’m glad the other photos help explain what is going on! I don’t think I’d enjoy jumping in the water right now! 🙂

    Like

  7. January 10, 2011 4:49 am

    Gorgeous shots – but I must say, I have never seen people bathe in ice water! Brrrr.

    Like

    • January 11, 2011 10:46 am

      I would like to see people do it (and maybe photograph it for my blog 😉 )- but not to do it myself !

      Like

  8. hellevibeke permalink
    January 10, 2011 2:22 pm

    So this is your “ice-bergs”, Truels…interesting 🙂

    Like

  9. January 10, 2011 4:08 pm

    Those ice covered blocks add such interest to the photos! The second shot is like an icy Loch Ness monster!

    Like

    • January 11, 2011 10:50 am

      There might be some Moesgård-monsters there – I must be careful next time I go there…..

      Like

  10. January 10, 2011 7:38 pm

    Ice is so cool. Nature uses it to incase and shape the landscape in the cold climates. These are outstanding in both composition and giving a sense of the cold Europe has been feeling this winter.

    Like

  11. January 12, 2011 2:16 pm

    Wonderful bench in the ice – very interesting
    beautiful nature and good shots

    Like

  12. January 12, 2011 9:29 pm

    Very exciting photos, especially No. 3 and No. 4. This makes one think a bit about many things, and it is not the Denmark I’m used to see.

    Like

  13. January 14, 2011 4:23 am

    interesting looking objects, and im with you no winter bathing outside for me either!

    Like

    • January 14, 2011 5:19 pm

      Yes, let’s jump in when it’s summer – and the water is around 20 degr. C. ! (and still not warm – but warmER 😉 )

      Like

Leave a Reply

