Skip to content

Icebergs in Denmark

January 7, 2011

Guess where I was over the Christmas holiday?
Click on the three photos, enlarge and enjoy these beautiful – – icebergs …………… Which I photographed December 26, 2010.

Now I could tell you, that I have fulfilled an old dream: To travel to Greenland!

But then I would lie! And I will NOT lie to you! Not that I do not dream of traveling to Greenland. But I have not been there – yet.

These photos are captured at Moesgård Strand (Moesgaard Beach) around 10 km south of Århus on a day, where everything there was covered with ice, including the beach, the the large stones, used for coastal protection, and the poles used to mount the bath bridges in the summertime.

I will show more of this in my next post, but this post is dedicated to Greenland and my (and many other’s) dreams of Greenland…..

I hope you will join me……..?

29 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2011 12:36 am

    I knew winters in Denmark were COLD, but icebergs? Wow!
    I do hope that you will make it to Greenland some day soon.

    Like

    • January 8, 2011 2:12 pm

      I really hope to visit Greenland – before the icebergs diappear…

      Like

  2. January 7, 2011 12:37 am

    wow .. how interesting … they are spectacular and look like icebergs to me …lol.. I would of believed the lie .. but coming from sunny western australia where there is never any snow .. what would i know
    great pics : )

    Like

    • January 8, 2011 2:17 pm

      Hello Coralie! Thanks for visiting my blog – I do not hope the floods in Australia are around your place too?

      Like

  3. January 7, 2011 1:18 am

    Shoot…you really had me convinced they were icebergs…so I will simply have to pretend they are. 😉

    Like

    • January 8, 2011 2:19 pm

      If you keep pretending – then do not read my new post today 😉

      Like

  4. January 7, 2011 1:25 am

    Wow, Greenland?!
    I always wanted to go there…
    Used to have a pen pal there. 😉

    Like

    • January 8, 2011 2:20 pm

      THanks for your comment. I hope we will both come to Greenland soon!

      Like

  5. January 7, 2011 2:27 am

    I do like the icemounds, especially as they’re floating on all that pretty blue water. I hope you get to Greenland one day soon. Or, who knows, the way things are going, perhaps Greenland will float off to visit you.

    Like

    • January 8, 2011 2:24 pm

      You might be right in your last remark: Some scientists say, that if/when all the ice in Greenland has melted it will cause a rise in water level in the oceans by 7 meters…. (much of Denmark will be seabed then!)

      Like

  6. January 7, 2011 4:21 am

    Your rock icebergs are spectacular, Truels. They’re perhaps an inkling of what the real things (in Greenland) will be like.

    Like

    • January 8, 2011 2:28 pm

      Thank you for your comment, Barb. I thought the similarity was striking when I shivering from cold took the gloves off and photographed them!

      Like

  7. January 7, 2011 11:50 am

    I chose to believe these are icebergs! 🙂

    Like

  8. January 7, 2011 1:05 pm

    Amazing frozen shapes, strange visitors floating from the so cold Greenland… Very nice pictures of your dream that hopefully will come true some day 🙂

    Like

    • January 8, 2011 2:30 pm

      I am sure my dreams of visiting Greenland will come true in the future. Thanks for your comment!

      Like

  9. January 8, 2011 1:01 pm

    cool pictures

    Like

  10. January 8, 2011 11:13 pm

    This is amazing! These do look so much like real icebergs! I can rel

    Like

  11. January 8, 2011 11:16 pm

    Oh dear! I must have accidentally submitted the comment before it was finished. I meant to say that I can relate to you for wanting to go to Greenland. It’s one of my many dream destinations!
    Great post!

    Like

  12. January 9, 2011 12:38 am

    Another set of beautiful iceberg shots.

    Like

  13. January 9, 2011 7:59 am

    Visit to Greenland. Wow and wow. That must have been immemorial trip. Oh yes and photos, again terrific photos.

    Thank You presenting them to us.

    Like

    • January 9, 2011 2:27 pm

      Yes, such a trip to Greenland will be great. And thank you for your comment, Matti.

      Like

  14. January 10, 2011 12:27 am

    Oh, I felt cold by just looking at those photos! 😀
    I hope you make it to Greenland before the greenhouse effect turn it to a northern version of Crete!

    Like

    • January 10, 2011 11:49 am

      It WAS cold!!!! Uh – Greenland changes to a version of Crete: THAT will be a drastically climate change!

      Like

  15. January 12, 2011 2:18 pm

    Never in my life have I seen icebergs – excellent and interesting photos

    Like

Leave a Reply

