Skip to content

Late autumn

November 23, 2010

This is my second contribution to Scott Thomas’ latest assignment “Autumn”.

All the photos here in this post are from late autumn here in November – few days ago.

And I gave myself an additional challenge to this second half of the topic “Autumn”. It was trying to go into details … Which I do after the first 3 photos.
All the photos are caught one of the first frost mornings recently.

Here is the view towards north-west from the road, Hørretvej, just outside Mårslet:

A little farther out of town the view towards south-east looked like this:

And here are some people walking with their dogs in the park in Mårslet:

Back in my garden, I decided to have a look closer at things:

……and even closer:

Leaving the chair I observed other places closely in the garden:

Is it not as though the garden’s plants and leaves look quite different and more beautiful such a frosty morning?

The branches and buds of the apple tree are fully dormant:

And who would think that the asparagus plants suddenly looks like this:

One of the beautiful plants in winter is Chinese lantern  (Japan lygter – in Danish, Physalis alkekengi – in latin). So let it finish this late autumn morning walk in the garden:

29 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2010 6:17 pm

    I know that feeling very well. Two of were out shooting today in this kind of temperature – but with not so interesting fruits and acres.

    Like

  2. November 23, 2010 6:57 pm

    Once again, simply beautiful shots! I particularly like the first with its beautiful range of colours and interesting foreground; the second has an amazing composition with those layers. I love that beautiful crisp light you’ve managed to capture so well! Also I love the shot of the cherries. The detail and the bokeh make it beautifully delicate…
    Frost seems to come early in Denmark, that’s how it might look in the middle of winter in our area!

    Like

    • November 26, 2010 11:33 pm

      I like the first one too, the Scarlet Willow Tree ( I think maybe a Salix alba ‘chermesina’ ) with the orange flaming color is a nice looking plant now in winter. And for the second I used my new tripod 🙂 … I do not remember so much snow and cold before in Denmark in November?? – I will post more (photos!) from this – soon 🙂

      Like

  3. November 23, 2010 8:20 pm

    Hi Truels, I’ve enjoyed my walk with you, observing how frost changes the Danish landscape. The plants and berries are rimed in a beautiful white which seems to emphasize shape and texture. I also love the photo of the frosty chair.

    Like

    • November 26, 2010 11:39 pm

      I am glad you also like this fine effect of frost and ice on things, the chair was from when my children were small, it showed up in a corner of the garden where I was cleaning up and changing things just before winter announced its early arrival….

      Like

  4. November 23, 2010 9:19 pm

    Wow, Truels, these are fantastic images. Although I’m very impressed by the landscape photos, I am also particularly intrigued by the frost on the plants – it looks like sugar crystals up-close like that!

    Like

    • November 26, 2010 11:43 pm

      It was a nice quiet and light – but cold! – morning – and the frost had a magical effect on everything – the perfect touch – the dot over the “i” (as we say here 😉 )

      Like

  5. November 24, 2010 5:25 am

    The details of the frost in those last image are superb. Beautiful photography.

    Like

    • November 26, 2010 11:45 pm

      Thank you, Kala! This Chinese lantern looks so beautiful now surrounded by grey – and now white! – colors

      Like

  6. November 24, 2010 6:45 am

    I agree with Kala….When I saw the first picture my first thought was ….burning bush…

    Like

    • November 26, 2010 11:50 pm

      Here in Denmark it IS infact called “Burning willow” – (ild pil) !!! I have a few in my garde also, but I cut them down every spring (they grow 1-3 meters per year! – and will be a 20-25 meter high tree – in a very short time!!!) And it is only the young shoots of the plant that have the “fire” color…

      Like

  7. November 24, 2010 5:09 pm

    Beautiful frost shots. I love the way you made the experience of coldness into visual beauty.

    Like

    • November 26, 2010 11:55 pm

      I’m glad that my intention to get you feel the cold succeeded!

      Like

  8. November 24, 2010 9:15 pm

    Although I don’t like winter but the freezed part here in your photo are very poetic .. as you yourself know they are a sign of autumn and not winter . I love all of them specially your close up photos .
    Hope you have beautiful days , lovely and warm nights and a peacefull life .

    Like

    • November 27, 2010 12:03 am

      Well, I will not say, that I LIKE winter, but there are some positive aspects of it! As such a day like this where the sun shines and the skies are high and blue – and the frost conjures the magic out of things around you…. And I wish you luck and peace too 🙂

      Like

  9. November 25, 2010 12:54 pm

    You made fantastic collection of photos. I love most of all, the second photo from top. It appeals very much to me.

    Like

  10. November 27, 2010 4:37 pm

    This is a very good collection Truels. I like your close-up’s from the garden.
    #2 is a very beautiful view.

    Like

    • November 27, 2010 4:54 pm

      Thank you, Carsten. The close-ups were my challenge here. And the view was captured using my new tripod 🙂

      Like

  11. December 2, 2010 4:57 am

    I think you met your challenge very well–those frost-furred details are beautiful.

    Like

  12. December 2, 2010 6:46 am

    Truels, I love the detail shots of the frost, I guess Jack Frost visited you too soon. 🙂

    Like

    • December 2, 2010 12:09 pm

      Yes, I like them too – but who is Jack Frost?! 😉

      Like

      • December 3, 2010 11:05 am

        I guess he is only popular in the US. 🙂
        Jack Frost is an English folklore character appears as an elfish creature who personifies crisp, cold winter weather. He is like the Father of Winter and responsible for leaving frosty crystal patterns on windows on cold morning.

        Like

  13. December 3, 2010 11:32 am

    Nye, thank you for the explanation. Interesting figure! – I don’t remember anything like Jack Frost here – but I think you are right: He has come over here now 😉

    Like

  14. December 9, 2010 3:50 am

    I love the color and details in the ice and snow photos, especially the red here. I found your post from ‘photographyfree4all’s photo blog. I really liked the creative blurred snow images too!

    Like

    • December 9, 2010 7:04 pm

      I am glad you stopped by here, and I appreciate your kind comments very much. I hope you will come back again – I will visit your blog soon 😉

      Like

Trackbacks

  1. Assignment 10: Recap | Views Infinitum

Leave a Reply

