Skip to content

Art in Silkeborg

November 17, 2010

Last weekend we went with a good friend to Silkeborg, a lovely town right in the middle of Jutland.

One purpose was to take a drive and some walks in the area – and  enjoy the fine autumn weather.

Another was to have a look at some of the fine exhibitions of art.

One of the most famous is Asger Jorn, one of my favorite Danish painters, he has now got his own museum here, the Museum Jorn.

But today’s goal was another of my favorite Danish artists, Leif Sylvester. He is a Danish painter, graphic artist, entertainer, musician and actor. He originally trained as a carpenter, but has simultaneously worked as a musician and artist. His images have become very popular and in demand in these years. He has his own gallery in Copenhagen, but currently there is a large exhibition at Galleri Moderne, Silkeborg with many of his excellent paintings, lithographs and ceramics (and also some other artists, among them Carl Henning Pedersen).

This exhibition is made on the occasion of Leif Sylvester’s 70’th birthday this year and has been shown other places in the country. Aside from a few very large paintings and a few lithographs were all works sold already at the exhibition opening!
Here I will only show a few photos from the show, I hope some of you will look more at the links I have made.

Painting: Til Fernisering ( Private View )

Ceramics: Fugl ( Bird) (up) and Højtråbende Person (Vociferous person) (down)

Painting (very large!): Det fantastiske publikum (The Great Audience)

If you also like Leif Sylvester’s art, please have a look at his paintings, lithographs or sculptures for example here on Galleri Phyton’s website.

After visiting Galleri Moderne we went to Art Centre Silkeborg Bad. Located by the Ørnsø Lake and surrounded by protected forest, this Art Centre has been established in the old spa facility that has undergone meticulous renovation. We did not enter the exhibitions in the buildings, but enjoyed the fine weather in the forests and by the lake. And in the area around the fine old buildings: An area filled with sculptures and installations. Here is a glimpse of what we saw:

The installation to the right is made of iron, and the water that springs up inside has given sculpture fall colors:

After a day like this we felt much attempted to do as  these 2 sculpture people do:

I hope you also liked the artworks in this post! My next post will be my contributions to Scott Thomas’ latests  assignment, Autumn.

And I am looking foreward to see yours too!!!

38 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2010 2:31 pm

    Oh! I particularly like the two people at the end – I would love to join you on the lawns, and among all the autumn leaves, when you do that – it sounds like fun!

    Like

    • November 17, 2010 6:12 pm

      Thanks for your comments, Reggie. And sure – we had a very nice day there 😉

      Like

  2. November 17, 2010 3:06 pm

    Lovely post.

    I love art in different forms. Especially I love “installation made of iron”. That is so great.
    Also the last photo pleases to me. It reminds me from “Crazy Statues Park” in Finland from which I have a post.

    Like

    • November 17, 2010 6:19 pm

      Thank you! I am glad to know other nature- and art- lovers around the world. I must soon check your post about “Crazy statues Park”.
      It is funny, because these days one of my new blog-friens – in Norway – Rune, he has just posted this about rusty iron:
      http://visualnorway.blogspot.com/2010/11/r-is-for-rust.html
      Check his blog – it is VERY good!

      Like

  3. November 17, 2010 5:18 pm

    Nice series. I like the eggs a lot

    Like

  4. November 17, 2010 5:43 pm

    Interesting post! Those installations in particular look great! I love sculptures and installations! I love the way you can walk around them and see them from every angle possible…

    Like

    • November 17, 2010 6:21 pm

      Thank you, Kai. I am glad you like sculptures and installations too!

      Like

  5. November 17, 2010 8:12 pm

    great catches..like one by one :):)

    Like

  6. November 17, 2010 8:47 pm

    I think you had a marvelous day out! You gave us a good taste of what you saw.

    Like

    • November 19, 2010 3:39 pm

      Yes it was a nice day, and I am glad you visited my blog and enjoyed it here too. PS: You have a very inspiring blog!

      Like

  7. November 17, 2010 10:53 pm

    Beautiful images. I love the light and you have a very good eye for composition.

    Like

    • November 19, 2010 3:48 pm

      Thank you for your comments. I hope you enjoy the spring around you!! 😉

      Like

  8. November 17, 2010 11:29 pm

    Hello Truels, I enjoyed seeing the artworks you’ve featured today. I especially like the photo of the backlit iron egg-shaped sculpture. I’m also turning somersaults here in CO!

    Like

    • November 19, 2010 4:09 pm

      I’m glad you enjoyed pictures, hope you will be back again soon!

      Like

  9. November 18, 2010 1:40 am

    You are so lucky to be around art like that.

    Like

  10. November 18, 2010 2:54 am

    nice documenting of the art, i especially like the last one…

    Like

    • November 19, 2010 4:18 pm

      Yes, the two white guys had fun too – and were eager to be photographed…

      Like

  11. November 18, 2010 3:14 am

    I’m such a literal artist that I truly envy those who have an eye for the whimsy. That metal egg is fascinating!

    Like

    • November 19, 2010 4:31 pm

      There were many whimsy installations exhibited in the park – and I love this way to show them – in fine weather 🙂

      Like

  12. November 18, 2010 9:47 am

    Great shots – I love these sculpture shows in the open. There are some great sculptures there.

    Like

    • November 19, 2010 6:56 pm

      Yes both the sculptures and the paintings were great. Thanks for visiting!

      Like

  13. November 18, 2010 10:06 am

    Truels, you continue to show us the beauty of Jutland. And in addition the beauty and humour of Danish art. My personal favourite must be your fourth photo – the low lighting coming from the right must be perfect for this subject, just illuminating the tree and the installation.

    Like

    • November 19, 2010 7:02 pm

      Rune, thanks for commenting. Jutland is beautiful, but the beauty of Norway is amazing and extra ordinary!

      Like

  14. November 19, 2010 12:36 am

    Great series of shots! I love the people standing in the frame – they give me a prespective of scale that I was not seeing. Great job!

    Like

    • November 19, 2010 9:20 pm

      I’m glad you liked the photos, thanks for the visit and your comments 🙂

      Like

  15. November 19, 2010 1:15 am

    What interesting artwork! I would love to see this in person. The style of art seems whimsical. Thank you for showing us, truels.

    Like

    • November 19, 2010 9:33 pm

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Kathy. I hope you once get the chance to see Denmark and what we can offer.

      Like

  16. November 19, 2010 9:14 am

    The two figures on the lawn in the last photo take the cake!

    Like

  17. November 19, 2010 1:19 pm

    What a beautiful day you had, truels ! Art in the open in a most wonderful nature and Season ! Thanks for sharing these moments, I will have a look at the links featuring these artists.

    Like

    • November 19, 2010 9:40 pm

      I hope you will like what you see – in these glimpses from the world of art: I am sure, that this will not be my last post about art!

      Like

  18. November 19, 2010 2:39 pm

    I beleive that art is the only language in the world to chain people beautifully . I’ve never seen the works of this artist but anyway I really enjoyed (The Great Audience) . This colorfull work is a kind of colorfull world that were suppose to be .. a world that is very great if human being love it enough !!
    Thanks for sharing that day with all the paintings , sculpture and top of everything the whole nice atmosphere of peace and freedom there …

    Like

    • November 19, 2010 9:50 pm

      Farnaaz, you are right, art (photos included!) is linking us from the whole world – and colorful, hopeful and positive works can help a little pushing this world in a more peaceful and free direction. I admire you and your fellow bloggers from your country fighting for this…

      Like

  19. November 21, 2010 2:54 pm

    When I hear Silkeborg I think of Tollund Man. Love the light going through the egg shaped sculpture and your friend’s art is nice too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

