Skip to content

Bunker

October 7, 2010
Now is the time to reveal the “ugly secret” from my last post: It is a bunker – a military building made of heavy reinforced concrete. During World War II and the occupation of Denmark and most of Europe the German Third Reich began building a lot of these bunkers as elements of The Atlantic Wall – fortifications along the western coasts of Europe. Many were built along the Danish West Coast from 1942. As it is difficult and expensive to remove them, they have never been removed. During the years the sand and dunes moves, and some of the 500-600 bunkers are buried in the sand (like the one we were looking at in my post), others are now on the beach….
This summer I visited one of the largest bunkers in Denmark, Battery Tirpitz, near Vejers Strand and Blåvand. The building of this began in 1944.
The walls were 3,5 thick – and it should have been mounted with 38 cm guns. I think it was fine, that this construction was never finished!
This is how it appears now – used as a  historic museum and for art-exibitions:
It has previously been attempted to blow it away – which failed:
The Bunker is definitely not a beauty!
But it tells an important and interesting history from the years of the German occupation of Denmark. And it is a special feeling to walk around in the partially destroyed and partially restored impressive building.
My daughter is here taking a history lesson – and my son is studying a model of Battery Tirpitz. Behind him one of the exhibited artworks.
16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2010 5:23 am

    Very interesting Truels. It is a good idea to use the bunkers for public purposes.
    If you haven’t been there, I can recommend a visit to the large fortification at Hanstholm. Or you can visit it here on the museums’ site:
    http://www.museumscenterhanstholm.dk/?&setlanguage=2
    Take a tour on their site.

    Like

    • October 10, 2010 9:20 am

      I know the Hanstholm website (in fact one of my links in the post is from this), but I would like to visit the fortification there.

      Like

  2. October 8, 2010 10:08 am

    This is interesting. I have never seen bunkers, but of course I have heard about them. I belong to that generation who was born when war ravaged in Europe. My father-in-law is still alive and he is 93 years old. One cannot imagine his stories from war. My father was also war veteran, but he is died since 1990.

    Truels, great post and nice photos.

    Like

    • October 10, 2010 9:30 am

      Thanks for the comment. WW II in Finland was very different than in Denmark, Finland was much harder hit by hard fighting and there were many dead and wounded. I am sorry that your father is dead, but glad that he was one of the survivors of the war.

      Like

  3. October 8, 2010 3:27 pm

    Nice to see a peaceful use of something built for less than peaceful purposes. You’d have thought the fact one needed such things would have got the people thinking. Alas, WWII is a lesson which I hope is never forgotten.

    Hey, I was on the right track on my guess. 🙂

    Like

    • October 10, 2010 9:35 am

      Yes, you were on the right track 🙂 And I very much agree with you in your attitudes to war!

      Like

  4. October 8, 2010 5:49 pm

    The french coastline is still dotted with bunkers, especially in my area, but none of them are quite as big as this one.
    Thanks for sharing these interesting photos!

    Like

    • October 10, 2010 9:37 am

      Hello Kai. I thougt they were even bigger in other countries, I’m glad you found the post interesting.

      Like

  5. October 10, 2010 8:07 am

    Interesting post and photos!

    Like

  6. October 10, 2010 10:25 am

    Hi! Nice to read your blog. I can see lots of interesting posts and great photos here!

    Like

    • October 10, 2010 2:21 pm

      Hello – to Greece: I like your Greece blog very much too – see you again 😉

      Like

  7. October 14, 2010 6:57 pm

    I still get shivers, thinking of World War II and everything that happened. It would have been interesting to visit that museum–and to pray that such things would not ever happen again. (Although they seem to repeat themselves around the world over and over again…)

    Like

    • October 14, 2010 8:03 pm

      It’s sad, that so many people keep using violence and war instead of cooperation to achieve their goals. But the only thing to do is to keep working peacefull ways ourselves – and hope….

      Like

  8. March 13, 2014 12:52 am

    I’m glad most of the bunkers are covered with sand. We visited some bunkers in Normandy, France. It’s so strange to remember the big world wars. I’m glad I didn’t have to live through that horror.

    Like

  9. March 14, 2014 3:28 pm

    Thanks for your comment! Sad that it seems like we humans will never stop killing each other with weapons – today in Syra, Africa, Afghanistan, and……

    Like

Leave a Reply

