Skip to content

Walnut snaps

September 14, 2010

Now I will show you how easy it is to make the best of all spirits! I love a good brandy – and in a LONG time – this will taste as good as the best brandy money can buy!

The only thing you will need a lot of – is TIME!

The xxxxxx in my previous post was “Walnut”.

First you pick some green walnuts – here in Denmark in August:

Then you cut them in quarters – and put them in a glass:

– and cover them with 40% alcohol (no seasoning added) – vodka can also be used.:

Now you close the glass carefully.

And WAIT!

For the next 6 months (or more) you can watch the green colour from the walnuts being extracted in the alcohol.

What then is going to happen? We will look at that – after Christmas!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 1:22 pm

    Making your own moonshine are we, Truels? 😉 I’ve never seen green walnuts – only the brown ones in the grocery. What a neat concoction! Looking forward to what this looks like in 6 months!

    Like

  2. September 14, 2010 2:56 pm

    I guessed right! 🙂
    Can’t wait to see what it looks like after Christmas.

    Like

  3. September 14, 2010 4:34 pm

    Nor have I seen green walnuts, didn’t know they exist. Looking forward to see the final result after Christmas 🙂

    Like

  4. September 14, 2010 6:56 pm

    Thanks for the comments. Tracy and Kerstin, the green walnuts are “normal” walnuts that are not ripe yet, they will be brown and ripe later in the autumn. Then I collect them, dry them – and…. UHM: Taste them!

    Like

  5. September 16, 2010 5:37 pm

    Wow, that’s something interesting that’s going on with those walnuts here! 🙂 I’m curious what the result will be!!

    Like

  6. September 17, 2010 3:15 pm

    this is really intriguing … although I’m going to have to wait to see your results before I try this myself 🙂

    Like

  7. September 18, 2010 10:44 pm

    Thanks for your comments, Simone and John. Some things in life requires a lot of time and patience before we are rewarded – and are worth waiting for! This walnut-snaps I have been making for more than 30 years (not every year!!!) – the oldest I still have now is 15 years old – and believe me: It gets better for every year! The problem is, that the older it is – the more you want to drink it 😉

    Like

  8. September 27, 2010 7:23 am

    How fascinating! I’ve never seen green walnuts before either, and certainly didn’t know you could infuse them in alcohol. I’ll wait to see what happens after Christmas! 🙂

    Like

    • May 4, 2011 8:46 pm

      Now you can see what happens next in my post “Walnut snaps (2) !

      Like

  9. May 4, 2011 4:38 am

    So interesting! Never thought that. Well, the time to wait is long, but what a man would not do while waiting something goooood! 🙂

    Like

  10. Jeanette permalink
    August 5, 2015 12:07 pm

    I’m so excited to try this! I have a bag of walnuts waiting to go. Could you tell me the rough ratio of how many walnuts to alcohol…and do you keep this in the sun or in darkness?
    Thanks so much!

    Like

    • August 8, 2015 8:53 pm

      Hi Jeanette. You simply cover the walnut-pieces with alcohol. Use a glass, that fits to the amount of nuts/alcohol (so that the glass is filled up). Then close it. The lid must fit tightly, so the alcohol does not evaporate! And the keep the glass – best in a dark place. Good luck! You are welcome to contact me again, if you want 🙂 My mail is: truels.noerholm@gmail.com

      Like

Leave a Reply

