Skip to content

Flowers in my garden – Quince

June 19, 2010

Two rather new plants in my garden are Japanese flowering quince ( Chaenomeles Japonica Japansk kvæde) and Quince ( Cydonia oblonga – Pære kvæde). These two plants and their flowers are very different, but the fruits are quite similar: A yellow stone-hard fruit (small on Chaenomeles and larger on Cydonia) – from which you can conjure delicious jam out of….  When I was young my mother made this jam every autumn from the fruits from my parents’  Cydonia oblonga tree. This jam was the best I have ever tasted, and now I hope soon to be able to make this jam again from fruits harvested in my own garden!

Chaenomeles japonica

Cydonia oblonga

That were the flowers, the fruits – and the jam will come later!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 22, 2010 5:26 pm

    Oooh, please let us know when you get to the fruit stage, and then the jam stage!! Pity one can’t post actual jars of jam on the blog… you know, to TASTE the jam inside them. Ah well, maybe one day technology will be sufficiently advanced to use ‘Transporters’ like in Star Trek. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

