Skip to content

Flowers in my garden / Creative exposure (2)

May 25, 2010

Here is my second contribution to Scott Thomas‘ latest assignment. Like my first contribution it is also another “Flower from my garden”…. Earlier I had a post with my small, red botanical tulips. Another of the many tulips we have planted during the 13 years, we have had our house and garden, is the subject for this post.

The “Black Tulip”. I think its name is “Queen of the Night” 🙂

That is one of my favorites too. So let’s look at some pictures of the Black Queen:

This is a family picture as introduction.

It is – like the following ones – and like the previous cherry flower pictures – taken with full zoom (432 mm), F 3.3, 1/1000 and ISO 100. And exp. comp. is set to -1,33, WB to sunshine. And I still play with my tools, chairs, wheelbarrow and more as “tripods”……

It gives the family a nice, light, green blurred  structure as background.

Underneath comes the Black Queen herself in portrait.

Still with a light green background. Blurred as I wanted.  To the left the settings that are changed are: The time – 1/250, and WB – cloudy. To the right the time is 1/200, and I prefer this one, the colours are more clear – and the queen is more black!

Well, behind the family was also a group of yellow flowers, I moved a little – and that changed the colours of the background:

To the left the only change in settings is the time – now 1/80. To the right the settings now are: Full zoom, F 5.6, 1/320, ISO 100, exp. comp. -2,00, WB cloudy.

The yellow colour added to the green in the background makes this more lively and exiting. I wanted the background blurred, that succeeded in the left one. But the Black Queen is really best in the right one….

What is most important – the background – or The Queen????

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Signe permalink
    May 27, 2010 6:04 pm

    Flot billede, far 🙂

    Like

  2. May 27, 2010 7:46 pm

    WOw!

    Like

  3. May 31, 2010 1:16 am

    Oh, the last two are my favorite – one so soft and the other so dramatic! Love how the different exposures give the same subject such a different feel.

    Like

  4. March 8, 2014 6:19 am

    Queen of the Night is a gorgeous color!

    Like

Leave a Reply

