Skip to content

My Hometown

March 24, 2010

Scott Thomas ( http://stphoto.wordpress.com/  )made this assignment, today I took my bike, and here are some impressions from: Mårslet, where I live with my family. A village with around 7500 people, 15 km’s from the centre of Århus, second largest town in Denmark, wih its 250000 people. My house is the yellow one – it has big attics with large windows – the red car outside…. It is built in 1904, we bought it 1997 , renovated it (while we lived in a caravan in the garden 🙂 during the winter). And since then we have been living in our lovely “new” house.

Our beautiful, typical Danish church is nearly 1000 years old….

And today I could feel the spring in my hometown:

23 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2010 12:18 am

    Beautiful hometown…but especially beautiful flowers! Look at them all! (We don’t have hardly any blooming yet…the snow has hardly melted.) Wasn’t this a fun assignment?

    Like

    • March 25, 2010 12:33 am

      Thank you for your comment! Oh yes – it was a fun assignment (my first one:-) – I just started blogging-life in the beginning of 2010….) – so it really was a CHALLENGE!

      Like

  2. March 25, 2010 12:54 am

    Truels, you are off to a very good start! Thank you for joining on the assignment. You did great. Did Birgitte get you to do collages like her?

    Wow, look at all the flowers and colors! I probably have a couple of weeks before I see such growth. I hope you will stay around and join in on more assignments and fun.

    Like

    • March 25, 2010 11:14 am

      Thank you for your comments – and for making the assignment – yesterday I found out, that this was really encouraging for me 🙂 So: I’ll be there again. As the matter of fact I first had a look a others (including Birgittes) post after I finished a couple of minutes past midninght (!!) – so it was funny to see my “teacher” also did a collage / mosaic!
      By the way I looked at your last assignment “White” – just when I started up my blog -, it was very inspiring and I made a lot of “white shots” – but I couldn’t cope with joining the assignment at that time….. Anyway – I used some of the pictures on my blog:
      https://truels.wordpress.com/2010/02/17/more-cold-white-footsteps/
      and
      https://truels.wordpress.com/2010/02/11/the-longest-coldest-white-winter-for-many-years-in-denmark/
      (sorry for the many pixels – I’m workin on reducing them on my older posts – I AM beginner!)

      Like

      • March 25, 2010 1:24 pm

        Birgitte, as you know, creates wonderful collages. I am not surprised you choose to make one, too. Oh, don’t worry about your first blogging attempts. We’ve all been there at one time and understand.

        Like

  3. March 25, 2010 2:42 am

    Lovely! I just couldn’t wrap my head around this assignment (plus our weather was yucky all this week). You did a splendid job! Denmark looks like a really lovely place to live. I must travel to there someday. Tracy (Beverly, MA, USA)

    Like

    • April 11, 2010 8:46 pm

      Hello – and thank you for your comment – I am sorry that something went wrong so I did not notice it before now. I hope you will realize your plans for going here soon, seee you!

      Like

  4. March 25, 2010 4:54 am

    Wow, 1000 year old church, and to think that we bragged about our 100 year old church here. 🙂

    You have a beautiful hometown, and the flowers are beautiful.

    Like

    • April 11, 2010 8:41 pm

      Thank you for your comment, I am sorry that something went wrong and I did nor notice this before today! But better late than never 🙂

      Like

  5. March 25, 2010 6:29 am

    What a lovely town and nice architecture ! It could be my car driving through 😉 I like those dark silhouettes of the trees too. And those flowers ! Absolutely magnificent, your Spring is really on the way, it is just starting over here. Bravo for this contribution 🙂

    Like

    • March 29, 2010 4:43 pm

      Thank you, Isa, for your nice comments:-) – and for your invitation (on your blog) – if you one day drive around here – I will be your guide!

      Like

  6. March 25, 2010 6:53 am

    Thanks for showing pictures of your hometown Truels.
    You give an expression of a typical small danish town. It has expanded from the church in the center. I like the type of house you live in.
    And thanks for all the flowers.
    I see that you had sucess in reducing the image size.

    Like

    • March 29, 2010 6:42 pm

      I enjoyed seeing the places you have lived too. Really a good contribution. And thanks for your advice about resizing.

      Like

  7. March 26, 2010 10:58 am

    You did it, managed to make a hometown post in the last moment, very well done!
    Scott´s assignments are a great idea, both fun to join and a possibility to get to know other bloggers. I´m sure you will enjoy the good company you are about to be a part of.

    Like

    • March 26, 2010 11:07 am

      Yes Birgitte, I am 100 % sure that I will enjoy the good blog-company too!

      Like

  8. Camilla permalink
    March 28, 2010 12:10 pm

    Så herlig blogg du har! (Er det ok å skrive på norsk?) Fant bloggen din gjennom Scott Thomas Photography! Veldig fine bilder! Håper det springer ut blomster her også snart!

    Like

    • March 28, 2010 9:10 pm

      OK – I give you a little danish also!: Jeg har også kigget på din blog – døren og de gamle huse minder mig om Ribe, den ældste by her – hvor jeg kommer fra! And yes, Scott Thomas’ assignment was great for me to join – I have got many comments a and seen many interesting new blogs – nice!

      Like

  9. March 31, 2010 1:13 pm

    I enjoyed the visit to Marslet, Truels, and your lovely collages. That seedpod is the star!

    I can’t even imagine what it would be like to live in a town with a 1000-year-old structure in it. People have lived on my land for 11,000 years or more, but there isn’t a single building in the Township that is more than 150 years old.

    Like

    • April 6, 2010 6:55 am

      Thank you for your comments. You must come to my country and see our buildings – and landscape. I was born and lived 20 years in the oldest town in Denmark, Ribe (I have a link to that in the sidebar) In Århus near here, they have built “Den Gamle By” (“The Old Town”) (I think I’ll make a link to that, too: http://www.dengamleby.dk/english.htm ): It consists of old houses from all over the country, taken down piece by piece, numbered, and then built up again here!!! Nice place – come and see!

      Like

  10. April 8, 2010 7:14 am

    Thank you for showing us around your hometown – it looks sooo beautiful, Truels!

    I particularly loved the flower collage – are those yellow freesias? And are the white ones snowdrops?

    We don’t get them here in South Africa, I think, but my husband recently visited Holland and took a photo of what I THINK must be snowdrops covering an entire lawn. I’m curious to know.

    Like

    • April 8, 2010 9:02 am

      I am glad you like the pictures from my hometown 🙂
      And yes, the white ones are snowdrops – the very first flowers we see here in spring, so they are special for us (for me!) When I read the english name for them – I laughed: It is such a nice and surprising name – for me. In danish it is called “Vintergæk” – Vinter=Winter and gæk=make fun wih and fool of someone (yes – a long translation, I don’t think you have that word in English. We use it in “Gækkebrev” also – see my post about that!)
      The yellow flowers: There are 2:
      The one down in the right corner (and in the upper left): Winter aconite
      The other one is: Crocus (on several pictures)
      There is also a picture of a houseleek. And one with the first leaves of a tulip.
      I’ll soon make a post with the flowers in my garden – now 🙂

      Like

      • April 8, 2010 10:08 am

        Oooh! I’m looking forward to that post! I’m very curious to see what flowers you have growing in your garden at this time. Maybe I’ll do the same in my garden too.

        Like

Trackbacks

  1. Assignment 6: Recap « Views Infinitum

Leave a Reply

