Skip to content

Birthday 100 years

February 25, 2010

Tuesday my uncle in Copenhagen was 100 years old. So I went across the country all the way through Jylland, Fyn and Sjælland – and a snowstorm – to meet many members of our big family. And to congratulate – and celebrate the first 100-years birthday I know of in my family.

The street where I live – it looks like a very long journey to Copenhagen….

Crossing one of the biggest bridges in the world: Storebæltsbroen.

Storebæltsbroen is actually 2 bridges and a tunnel. The East Brridge is a 6790 m long suspension bridge. The two pylons carrying it are 254 m high – and are the 2 highest points in Denmark!

See more: http://www.storebaelt.dk/english/bridge

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2010 7:32 am

    Congratulations to your uncle for his birthday! That is a huge achievement! I too would have driven across the country for such a family occasion.

    Those bridges look extraordinary. I hope they won’t be affected by the rising sea levels?

    Like

    • April 8, 2010 9:34 am

      If the sea-level rises several meters – as some scientists say – much of my country will change – or disappear 😦 – so I hope it doesn’t happen……

      Like

      • April 8, 2010 10:06 am

        Oh dear! That’s awful! I also hope it doesn’t happen! I would love to visit Denmark, Sweden and Norway someday, so I think we should hurry up and make our plans soon. 🙂

        Like

  2. April 8, 2010 10:49 am

    Good idea – hope to see you here:-)

    Like

Leave a Reply

